Real Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I doubled the recipe upon reading the reviews - and ended up having to make two pies. (Not that the recipients minded.) I used nine inch, pre-made, deep dish pies shells and both were filled to capacity. I didn't eat any (no-dairy diet - I just love to bake) but it got a rave review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this wonderful pie, I just got it out of the oven, it smells wonderful, it tastes yum, although its still warm , the flavours are lovely, I used 1/2 maple syrup and 1/2 pancake syrup instead of corn syrup just coz i didnt have any. very quick and easy. I made the dough myself, its a great dough that can be used for almost every pie and quiche! 1 cup sifted plain flower. 100 grams of butter room temperature. 3 tablespoons of cold water or a bit more if needed 1 teaspoon of salt if used for salti foods like quiche OR 1/4 of cup of icing sugar if used for sweet pies) you may add more sugar if wanted, but normaly pecan pie is sweet so i didnt add too much in the dough. to make dough: add all ingredients apart from the water in a bowl or food processor, mix well, it will turn crummy , then add the water till it forms a dough. place in pie tin then add whatever mix ur filling the pie in, and bake as instructed for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslondon
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
The absolute best pie I have ever ate. I was nervous to make a pecan pie, but this one was so easy. I baked it the night before and then just reheated in oven for a few minutes... topped it with homemade whipped cream and ta da... everyone loved it. Even my little brother who doesnt like pecans! Definitely a staple for all of the holidays! Thanks for such a great and easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This pie came out soupy and very sugary :( I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
The recipe did not fill the entire pie so it looked half full when it was done. The flavor is awesome my husband had two slices. Just have to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Amazing!! This pie was easy and everyone LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
i am a veteran baker so i don't doubt my technique...i must give this recipe only 1 star...mine turned out like soup just like another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is the same recipe that I have been using for over 20 years. Just as everyone has said this recipe only makes half a pie, my recipe says at the top (double recipe to fill pie pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Well, I'm doing something I always thought I wouldn't - tell everyone of the adjustments I made! Ha! We ended up with a really great pie with a few changes. It is the two eggs that give it that soft texture, but you only really need one. Also, I cut the sugar down to only 1/4 cup. The corn syrup is plenty sweet on its own. Your teeth don't curl up from the sweet that way. It was still plenty sweet. I also used WHITE Karo syrup, effectively making a vanilla pecan pie. It was GREAT! Last change that anyone can do to any pecan pie recipe they choose to use: CHOP the pecans. I always had had the mindset that the pecans had to be whole to look pretty. They don't. I added 1-1/2 cups CHOPPED pecans (and a little extra) for a positively great pie that is now my daughter's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Very Good!!! We all love pecan pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States