Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was fun to make. I made it vegetarian for a friend's party. I used fresh mozzarella in place of meat and it got great reviews. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this for a family birthday/Mardi Gras celebration and what a hit!!!! Followed the recipe exactly as posted and everyone raved over it..!!! I'm sure to be making this again and again...and not just at Mardi Gras but all year long!! Thanks for sharing, Jenn!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made a few changes: skipped the capers, used Mezzetta Italian mix with cauliflower, celery and carrot, used hot pickled chili peppers in place of the pepperoncinis, skipped canola oil (used a little extra EVOO) and skipped the mortadella. Made a great muffaletta, according to my guests (I don't eat meat so didn't try this one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent! Had a Mardi Gras Party and served these... nothing left! Everyone loved them and said Schlotsky's had nothing on us! Ha! They were wonderful... will make again and again! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I give this 5 stars because it is really 2 recipes in one: a great olive salad (really, fantastic) and a sandwich that is easily customized. The olive salad is very forgiving if you have to substitute or omit, but the original is really the best!! I made 6x the olive salad for a party...FYI it made about a gallon if you omit the cauliflower. We made 85 sandwiches using 8" soft French subs and, wrapped in foil, they toasted up perfectly the next day! Chlled, the sandwiches did take about 20-30 minutes to bake - depending on your oven. They cut well into smaller "mini muffalettas" and made a great cocktail sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used olive loaf instead of mortadella, same type of meat w/olives instead of fat. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this easy by buying: Marzetta's California Hot Mix (pickled celery, carrots, cauliflower) and cans of chopped black and green olives. The rest I kept the same. With this modification the recipe was simple AND delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
sounds better than it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Didnt have all the meat ingredients. Made do with pepperoni, salami, ham and turkey. The olive dressing was UNBELIEVABLE! Would double it next time... Makes for a nice change from the typical sandwich. Good for company too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
hoooo, yeah. I make the olive salad in the food processor - rough chop the stuff, then just three or four pulses to keep it coarse. then add the liquids and seasonings in the jar it's going to be stored in. So hard to get good bread up here in Maine, but a crusty italian loaf is a must. In season, I spread a few fresh basil leaves on top of the olive salad when building the sandwich. I use cappicola; mild or hot. I usually make at least two of these, so I do one spicy and one mild. This is the best summer picnic meal EVER. Thank you for sharing an outstanding recipe. Vegetarians like this with roasted red peppers and/or grilled eggplant to replace the meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States