Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Rating this probably isn't fair since I had to change so much. 1. I bought jarred olive salad. I'm sure homemade would be better but time was short and the ingredients would have been very expensive. (I will try it for a special occassion sometime.) 2. I used swiss and provolone. 3. I don't know what mortadella is. I used salami, turkey and pepperoni. The point with the meet seems to be to add to the bold taste of the sandwich. Ham would be better than turkey I'm sure, but since I only had turkey it was fine. 4. Bread is very important. It must be soft bread. Mine was a little crusty and we agreed soft would be better. He made the comment not knowing I didn't have the right bread. 5. I wasn't sure my teenagers would like the olive taste. Wrong. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is one fantastic sandwich!!! Make sure you follow the directions to refrigerate the olive relish overnight. You could eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made this for a party, and it was a success. The olive spread is delicious. Taste even better the next day. Thank for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was fun to make. I made it vegetarian for a friend's party. I used fresh mozzarella in place of meat and it got great reviews. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this for a family birthday/Mardi Gras celebration and what a hit!!!! Followed the recipe exactly as posted and everyone raved over it..!!! I'm sure to be making this again and again...and not just at Mardi Gras but all year long!! Thanks for sharing, Jenn!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made a few changes: skipped the capers, used Mezzetta Italian mix with cauliflower, celery and carrot, used hot pickled chili peppers in place of the pepperoncinis, skipped canola oil (used a little extra EVOO) and skipped the mortadella. Made a great muffaletta, according to my guests (I don't eat meat so didn't try this one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent! Had a Mardi Gras Party and served these... nothing left! Everyone loved them and said Schlotsky's had nothing on us! Ha! They were wonderful... will make again and again! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I give this 5 stars because it is really 2 recipes in one: a great olive salad (really, fantastic) and a sandwich that is easily customized. The olive salad is very forgiving if you have to substitute or omit, but the original is really the best!! I made 6x the olive salad for a party...FYI it made about a gallon if you omit the cauliflower. We made 85 sandwiches using 8" soft French subs and, wrapped in foil, they toasted up perfectly the next day! Chlled, the sandwiches did take about 20-30 minutes to bake - depending on your oven. They cut well into smaller "mini muffalettas" and made a great cocktail sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used olive loaf instead of mortadella, same type of meat w/olives instead of fat. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States