Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
The olive salad alone is reason to give this recipe 5 stars. It's crazy expensive if you can't buy small amounts of ingredients (I am somewhat rural) so I made a double batch and with a few more green olives and capers, I can make another. I had about a gallon of the stuff and thought I'd never use it all. I gave some away but then I tried it on home made gnocchi and, well, I'm keeping the rest and making more. Bruschetta, pizza, cheese and crackers...straight out of the jar. It's phenomenal. I once bought a jar from Central Grocery in NOLA and it was not this good! My only tweak was a little chopped fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is one awesome sandwich! Delicious crowd pleaser. I especially appreciate that the olive salad is made ahead of time; making the sandwich is a breeze. Once the sandwich is made, it travels well. Seriously would give this 10 stars for great taste + satisfying + ease. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My kids have been turkey and mayo with pickles exclusively their whole lives. This recipe changed that. I blend mine to hide the cauliflower and capers from my kids and they will destroy this sandwich. My 8 year old would eat a 12 inch sub of this meal and he is only 55 lbs. Serves a crowd! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
So deliciously. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I come back to this recipe again and again - always a crowd-pleaser. The only trouble I have is finding it - the second "U" in the title means this doesn't come up when searched! The olive salad is amazing, even to people who don't like olives. It's also very flexible -- don't NOT make it because you don't have a few of the items. And be sure to include the celery and carrots - tho a small amount that little crunch makes all of the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Too much oil. Cut the oil in 1/2 and was plenty. Otherwise made just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Pretty good! I'm not a fan of olives (especially Kalamatas), but this wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't make this often, but for Fat Tuesday fare, it hit the spot. :) To my surprise, I thought the olive salad was the best part! If the ratio of Kalamata / stuffed green olives were reversed, it would have not been to my liking at all. So that the olive taste wouldn't overwhelm every bite, I coarsely chopped mine (as opposed to crushing them). I also chopped my pepperoncini (biting into a whole one didn't appeal to me). Because I prefer a warm sandwich, I heated mine (foil covered) in a 250 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Ironically, my local Italian market didn't have seeded Italian bread, but I found a 1 lb. loaf at a popular grocery chain. I'm soooo glad I found a seeded loaf of bread. It really made a HUGE difference, IMHO. NOTE: Plan ahead so that you can refrigerate your assembled sandwich for a few hours - and be sure to add some of the oil from your olive salad so that it soaks into your bread (it adds GREAT flavor...yum!). I've never had a true muffaletta from Central Grocery, but if it tastes anything like this, I'd be in for a real treat! Thanks for sharing, Jenn! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Absolutely awesome for salt lovers!!!! Pure heaven. Things not really needed in olive salad (which will save time and money) - pickled cauliflower, celery, and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this for the super bowl and tasted it yesterday, my husband said it will be a hit and I thought it was the best turkey sandwich I ever tasted. I made a few changes to adjust for turkey: Instead of cauliflower, capers, and marinated onion I used a small jar of marinated artichokes, 5 sundried tomatoes in oil, and 7 oz jar of roasted red pepper, and 2 T of chopped onion, and put everything in the food processor. I am surving it on ciabatta rolls with sliced Roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Reeeeeeally tasty! I made this for a catering event that had a bit of a theme... and this fit perfectly for New Orleans! The flavors are incredible together - but it's a bit messy!! I love the presentation but it's so hard to eat! Oh well, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States