Real NY Jewish Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My husband, who usually only likes the cheap cracked wheat store bread absolutely loved this recipe. I thought it was delicious, also. Next time will try with dill seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenfield, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed another reviewer and omitted the potato flakes and reduced the water by 1/4 c. Used pickle juice from Vlasic Reduced Sodium Stackers but next time I'll try Zesty Dills. Used brown sugar. This turned out perfectly. The dough was just wonderful to work with. I baked it in 2 half-loaves for just the two of us, freezing one. Baked them for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Just finished baking this wonderful aromatic loaf. The crust is strong and chewy, the crumb is close. The addition of pickle juice recreates the authentic loaf. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This bread was great! I didn't have potato flakes so I didn't use them and took out 1/4 cup of water since I researched how much water is used to reconstitute them. I used regular sugar, not demerara, and I didn't have pickle juice so I used sauerkraut juice instead. Since I make a lot of bread I changed up the directions a little. I mixed the sugar and yeast into about 110 degree water until the yeast became frothy, about 5 minutes. I mixed the flour, rye flour, caraway seeds, and salt together (I would have also mixed the potato flakes in with this dry mixture if I had used them). I then poured the frothy yeast mixture, sauerkraut juice (or pickle juice)and oil into the dry mixture and mixed them all together. I then kneaded the dough for about 6 minutes with the dough hook in my kitchen aid. I put the dough into an oiled bowl and turned it to coat the whole dough. I let it rise, covered with a towel for about an hour or until doubled in size. I then punched it down and put it in an oiled loaf pan, covered it with a towel and let it rise for about an hour, or until a little over the loaf pan. I cooked it at 350 degrees on the middle rack of the oven for 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
My step son told me that this is the best bread that I have made, and it didn't even have the caraway seeds in it! The pickle juice gives it a nice, tart taste. Perfect for tuna sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe is hands-down, the best recipe for rye bread I have encountered. I have successfully made it in the bread machine, using either the full loaf cycle, or the dough cycle and finishing it off the second rising in a loaf pan then baking it in the oven. It is perfect as written but sometimes I add 1 heaping tsp. of grainy mustard to enhance the flavor. To change things up I've also substituted demerara sugar with organic barley malt syrup, which is commonly used by bread bakers. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I live in an area of NY that is blessed with both Jewish delis and bakeries and this bread would be right at home in either. I free formed my loaf and baked it on my pizza stone. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing, Dad! 3/18/14 the potato flakes aren't strictly necessary, especially if you use bread flour rather than AP. It simply adds gluten to the recipe, making for a nice rise. Vital wheat gluten would also work. And the pickle juice doesn't have to be a specific type. I used the juice from a jar of bread and butter pickles, I have also used both white and cider vinegar. It only imparts the slightest of taste and is primarily used as a dough conditioner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made this today for the first time and it turned out beautifully! I substituted 2 Tbsp. of Vital Wheat Gluten for the potato flakes and put everything in the bread machine, setting it for the whole grain dough cycle. I then shaped the dough into a round, let it rise a second time, and baked according to the recipe. My guests said it was outstanding...far better than any commercially made rye bread they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I used this recipe the first time I made rye bread. I didn't have demerara sugar so I substituted brown sugar for it. Also I didn't have sour pickle juice, but I had a jar of sweet/spicy pickles in the fridge and used that instead. Instead of canola oil I used olive oil. The loaf came out like a perfect loaf of sandwich bread, complete with the mushrooming over the loaf rim. The crust was thin between crisp and chewy. The crumb was medium between coarse and close and it was both fluffy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katewackerle
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Really great recipe! Was looking for a good "New York Jewish Deli - Rye Bread" recipe for my brother's father-in-law, and this hit the mark perfectly! I had a hard time finding sour pickles, but found an old style deli near me that had a pickle bar and they were more than happy to help me by adding a little more sour pickle juice to my pickle order! I used a hi-gluten flour - great texture. I also used the bread machine for the first kneed/rise and had no issues. I prefer not to bake the bread in the in the machine, and it the recipe worked really well to do it 50/50 like I did. Next time I make it, I'm going to try and cook it a few minutes longer just to get a little more crust on it (not that it was bad by any means this time). I am also curious to see how it turns out not cooking it in a loaf pan. Try this recipe - it was really wonderful and the bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States