Real NY Jewish Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Easy and delicious!! Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is my first loaf of rye and I'm a novice bread baker. Taste is excellent, nice crumb, crunchy but soft crust. Indeed better than any you can buy. I did add 1 tsp of diastatic malt powder, 1/2c high fiber flour blend (both from King Arthur flour) in place of 1/2c bread flour and I also added 1 tsp mustard powder. It did rise but not as much as I hoped. Still great sliced for sandwiches. Right now I'm enjoying it with pastrami! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efendi0822

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quantico, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely fantastic! Potato flakes give the bread a moist crumb, and pickle juice just augments the rye sour beautifully! Loads of flavor! I made mine swapping molasses for the sugar and it was flat-out perfect! I've made lots of rye bread, this one is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was the first loaf of bread I have made in my life. I am an American living in Amsterdam and I so miss NY Jewish Rye. I followed the recipe almost exact (my timings were a bit different) since it was my first loaf. It is delicious! My most honest critic is my husband. He came home, took one bite and said "EXCELLENT!" Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was quite good. I used white vinegar rather than pickle juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by killthebananas
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was my first time making my own rye bread. The dough didn't react as I've grown accustomed to bread dough reacting. It was very dense, and didn't rise much. But it turned out very well in the end. Dare I say this is the perfect rye bread? The "rye" flavor is intense, and that is just the way I like it. I made a few substitutions: I didn't have pickle juice, so I sub'd apple cider vinegar, and didn't have potato flakes, so sub'd gluten, and didn't have oil, so sub'd butter (equal parts for all). To make up for the lack of pickle juice, I threw in a pinch of dill seeds with the caraway. I let my bread machine take care of the dough cycle. I shaped it and let it rise on the counter for 1 hour, then baked at 350 for 35 minutes. It didn't rise much more when it was on the counter (I was getting nervous at this point!), but the loaf really fluffed up in the oven. It turned out just as I was hoping. Just as good, if not better than the rye bread I get from my local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frank Barnett
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe pretty close. I stirred the yeast in the water with a fork and then dipped the fork in sugar and used that to stir again, which was plenty to feed the yeast. I also used brown sugar instead of demerara sugar, which I never heard of before, but intend to look for it soon. Instead of the bread pan, I used a round Brotform basket to give it an Artisan look and baked it on a preheated pizza stone. The result was a nice looking loaf of wonderful tasting rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this in my bread machine! It was still great! The best I ever had! I can't say enough! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCurrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moggy
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe, hubby took one bite and said "better than anything you can buy!" That is his highest praise. I could not find dark rye flour anywhere in this town so I had to use the light colored one, the only pickle juice I had was Kosher Dill and I didn't know if that was going to mess up the flavor of the bread so I used apple cider vinegar. I was a little worried because the vinegar smell was so overpowering as I was mixing and waiting for the rises, but it was perfect in the end product. I make a lot of bread, this one took 1.5 hours to rise only slightly and I was starting to worry that maybe I had forgotten to add the yeast to the mixture. I let it rise 1.5 hours again on the second rise and still didn't get a really impressive rise out of it. Worried that it hadn't risen enough I took a chance and popped it in the oven - thank goodness for oven spring! I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer than the directions state too. But in the end it was perfection! This is definitely a keeper recipe. I can't wait to toast a slice up and have it for breakfast with a fried egg. thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Fabulous! I love it! I didn't have any potato flakes, so I grated 1/4 c. of a potato and reduced the water by as much. The crust is crunchy, but fine. It is not hard or thick. The inside is soft, but holds together well when sliced. I've struggled with bread in the past, but this recipe worked out great! The flavor is tasty tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States