Real NY Jewish Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Love this bread! Made this with regular rye flour and omitted the potato flakes (reducing the water by 1/4 cup as others have advised). It is so good and makes great sandwiches. The dill pickle juice is a definite flavor punch. I have also used this recipe to make Reuben bakes by rolling the proofed dough into a large rectangle, filling the middle third with 1000 Island dressing, sauerkraut, and pastrami or corned beef, then folding over the sides before baking. It's like a deli-style calzone and all who have tried it think it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made this bread and it is delicious. The recipe needs to changed to 1/2 cup water. One cup makes the dough too stickey so I had to add more flour to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
If there was 6 stars I would give it. My bread is awesome. Everyone who tasted it loved it. The secret ingredient made the difference. I am going to make it again in a few days. Today I am going to make the San Francisco sour bread. I used Claussen Pickle juice. If you like rye bread you will love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elf
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is top dog! fab recipe, bread has a lovely taste and cuts well...can't wait to try it with pastrami, mayo mixed with a little mustard and a bread and butter pickle...a fab open sandwich. great tip frpm another poster, if you don't have potato flakes leave them out and reduce water by 1/4 cup. Thanks for that...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Fabulous recipe. Beautiful bread, it was easy to follow and turned out wonderfully. I made a few small tweaks, nothing too major. Absolutely must try this, even my non rye eating friends liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Easy and delicious!! Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is my first loaf of rye and I'm a novice bread baker. Taste is excellent, nice crumb, crunchy but soft crust. Indeed better than any you can buy. I did add 1 tsp of diastatic malt powder, 1/2c high fiber flour blend (both from King Arthur flour) in place of 1/2c bread flour and I also added 1 tsp mustard powder. It did rise but not as much as I hoped. Still great sliced for sandwiches. Right now I'm enjoying it with pastrami! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efendi0822

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quantico, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely fantastic! Potato flakes give the bread a moist crumb, and pickle juice just augments the rye sour beautifully! Loads of flavor! I made mine swapping molasses for the sugar and it was flat-out perfect! I've made lots of rye bread, this one is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was the first loaf of bread I have made in my life. I am an American living in Amsterdam and I so miss NY Jewish Rye. I followed the recipe almost exact (my timings were a bit different) since it was my first loaf. It is delicious! My most honest critic is my husband. He came home, took one bite and said "EXCELLENT!" Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States