Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Mrs Riles, weekend chef
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great dough recipe, but I sectioned the dough in 3, instead of 2, and it still made huge calzones. I stuffed them with sauteed onions, ground turkey, rotel, ms dash, minced garlic (all cooked together), then added shredded mozzarello cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Riles, weekend chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I changed a little bit and still worked great. I really like using whole wheat whenever possible, so I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cup of white flour. I also used a chicken, broccoli, and mushroom filling. Sure 5 stars. I'll be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Doubled the dough because we had guest and everyone added what they liked to the inside. It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxNchloe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a good base calzone recipe, but I agree with the other reviewers, what "real" Italian uses cheddar cheese in their food?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Used parmesan and mozzarella cheese instead because I didn't have any ricotta. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I basically only used the dough portion of this recipe and we loved it! I made the dough in the bread machine and that worked out very well. I did a one filled w/ steak, onions, mushrooms, ricotta, provolone and mozzarella, and the other filled w/ a mixture of cooked spinach, onions, garlic and pepperoni, ricotta, provolone and mozzarella. Both were a hit! I brushed them w/ olive oil before baking instead of the egg. I will be using this dough recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I thought this was fabulous. I left out the cheddar and added parmesan and some seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe was boring and dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
FANTASTIC! Dipping it in pizza sauce takes it to the next level :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Made this tonight - and even my picky 4 1/2 yr old ate his! The dough was super easy to make, and tasted great. I think I may add some italian seasoning to it next time..and there will be a next time! I used mozz in place of the cheddar & served w/ the easy pizza sauce III recipe from this site, w/ cindy18lou's mods. Super good - the only problem I can see is that there aren't any leftovers for tomorrow! UPDATE: Doubled the recipe w/ no trouble. I've found that the thinner you roll the dough, the better - almost to the point where it is about to tear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States