Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I loved this recipe...tried it for the first time tonight and my family loved it, even kids, which I thought would be picky(they do not like ricotta). YAY!!! They liked ricotta!!!I used pizza cheese & mozerella instead of cheddar, fresh basil instead of dried, & I was in a rush so used frozen bread dough(had that thawing while I was out running erands.) I put pepperoni, portabella mushrooms and onion in mine. So wonderful, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This got a 5 star rating from the hubby (he'd give more stars if he could). I read many of the other reviews for suggestions; here is what I did. Made the dough as instructed, replacing 1 cup of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat instead--did it in the breadmaker on the dough cycle. I refrigerated the dough for 4 hours before using, and it still worked great (brought up to room temp for an hour). I rolled the dough out into 4 smaller calzones--which were still huge. I packed the little suckers right full of mushrooms, onions, ground beef, ricotta, mozzarella, diced tomatoes, feta, ham and pancetta--folded over the dough, pushed the edges together to make a seam, cut a slit into the top of each calzone and pushed the air out gently by pushing on the tops of the calzones before baking. Brushed egg white onto the dough - made the dough crispy and gave it a nice golden colour. Baked as directed. These were fantastic and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
VERY good! While I consider myself fierce competition in the kitchen, I lack confidence when it comes to baking (pretty much anything to do with yeast!). To my surprise, this was MUCH easier to prepare than I thought it would be!!! My only (minor) hiccup was with my dough (mine was pretty sticky and in need of additional flour). NOTE: If you own a bread machine, allow it to do most of the work for you. Select your machine's dough / pizza dough cycle, medium loaf size. When it's ready, deflate your dough and continue on! HANDY TIPS: Mrsdi is correct. REAL calzones DO NOT contain cheddar cheese! Keeping that in mind, I followed her lead closely but also made some personal changes to suit my / our tastes. Instead of cheddar, I subbed shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese. I also decreased the pepperoni by HALF and added 1/4 c. of browned (mild) Italian sausage instead. I then added 1/4 t red pepper flakes, 1/2 t garlic powder, 3/4 t salt, a dash of pepper / parsley, a couple T of grated Parmesan cheese and an egg to bind everything together. I filled my calzones generously, leaving a half inch margin that I "sealed" with beaten egg (this helps the calzone "stick" together). I brushed my calzones with egg (no EVOO for me) and proceeded as directed. FANTASTIC! My hubs HATES ricotta and even he enjoyed these. :) If I can win over my picky husband, I know I did good lol! Jarred pizza sauce worked great for dunking. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Jenny! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Oh my Calhonzy ! Cheddar cheese ? Not unless I want to get whacked at my home. Other wise it's a good recipe and the dough works good. I cut in fourth's roll out the little balls and fill with with good Italian sausage, mozzarella and Ricotta. and follow the rest of the recipe. No pepperoni, however, which in Italian is a "pepper", no such sausage in Italy. But when in America do as the Americans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe disappointed me. It lacked enough filling. It lacked flavor. I can't believe its getting such good ratings. I hated it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
So very good, and as easy as bread dough gets! I skipped th ricotta, simply because I dont prefer it. Very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This recipe was delicious! And it seemed easy enough as this was my first time making a calzone from scratch. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
It was only my second time making dough (the first dough was a fail, by the way) and it came out perfectly! I waited for the yeast to bubble with such anticipation... it was a success on my second attempt. I split the dough into 4 and the calzones where huge! I can't imagine making only 2 with all of that dough. I fill them with 1/2 c ricotta, 1.5 c shredded mozzarella, left over homemade meatballs, chopped up spinach, basil, black pepper and Italian seasoning. Like others, I painted on oil before placing in the oven instead of the egg. My boyfriend rated this a "great" meal, which meals a whole lot coming from him! I will definitely be making this again and changing up the fillings (or not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
AWESOME. The dough was so easy to work with and came out crispy on the bottom. (I used olive oil to grease the bottom of my baking sheet). I changed the stuffing, I put Kraft Italian 5 cheese blend, pizza sauce, garlic and basil. Will be making them again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made four of these for my family and it was pretty good. I did the recipe for the crust as directed, but it did come out a little too hard. I modified the inside (I have a VERY picky family) but doing a layer of pepperoni, sprinkle of basil, thick layer of Mozzarella shredded cheese, another layer of pepperoni, and another sprinkle of basil, then fold. And pizza sauce for dipping. YUM! I think I'd make this again, maybe add some mushrooms, ham, sausage, etc. The only thing that I really didn't like was the overly crunchy crust, so if you like it a little more moist don't leave it in for the full 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States