Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
So very good, and as easy as bread dough gets! I skipped th ricotta, simply because I dont prefer it. Very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This recipe was delicious! And it seemed easy enough as this was my first time making a calzone from scratch. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
It was only my second time making dough (the first dough was a fail, by the way) and it came out perfectly! I waited for the yeast to bubble with such anticipation... it was a success on my second attempt. I split the dough into 4 and the calzones where huge! I can't imagine making only 2 with all of that dough. I fill them with 1/2 c ricotta, 1.5 c shredded mozzarella, left over homemade meatballs, chopped up spinach, basil, black pepper and Italian seasoning. Like others, I painted on oil before placing in the oven instead of the egg. My boyfriend rated this a "great" meal, which meals a whole lot coming from him! I will definitely be making this again and changing up the fillings (or not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
AWESOME. The dough was so easy to work with and came out crispy on the bottom. (I used olive oil to grease the bottom of my baking sheet). I changed the stuffing, I put Kraft Italian 5 cheese blend, pizza sauce, garlic and basil. Will be making them again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made four of these for my family and it was pretty good. I did the recipe for the crust as directed, but it did come out a little too hard. I modified the inside (I have a VERY picky family) but doing a layer of pepperoni, sprinkle of basil, thick layer of Mozzarella shredded cheese, another layer of pepperoni, and another sprinkle of basil, then fold. And pizza sauce for dipping. YUM! I think I'd make this again, maybe add some mushrooms, ham, sausage, etc. The only thing that I really didn't like was the overly crunchy crust, so if you like it a little more moist don't leave it in for the full 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
i definately altered the filling recipe, but i gotta give it up for the dough recipe, it was delicious!!! inside i put mozzarella, ricotta, bell pepper, spinach, mushroom, garlic, onion, and sausage. heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These were alright. Didn't use cheddar, dough was extremely wet so I added more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyasMommy
Photo by Mrs Riles, weekend chef
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great dough recipe, but I sectioned the dough in 3, instead of 2, and it still made huge calzones. I stuffed them with sauteed onions, ground turkey, rotel, ms dash, minced garlic (all cooked together), then added shredded mozzarello cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Riles, weekend chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I changed a little bit and still worked great. I really like using whole wheat whenever possible, so I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cup of white flour. I also used a chicken, broccoli, and mushroom filling. Sure 5 stars. I'll be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Doubled the dough because we had guest and everyone added what they liked to the inside. It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxNchloe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States