Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I LOVE This Recipe! Have made several times. Has always turned out awesome and I totally eat the out of it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This recipe is great! I usually don't make calzones but the dough I use all the time! It works great for pizza dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockstartailor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I did not make the dough. Instead, I purchased fresh ready made from my local grocery store. Also, I used mozzarella cheese instead of the cheddar since so many seemed to think it was the wrong cheese for calzones. The result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My kids loved it! Very good! We used sauce with it and it made it even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used fresh pizza dough that I get pre-made from the store. Also, I wouldn't THINK of using cheddar cheese, so I used mozzarella. The only other changes I made was adding some garlic and sprinkling the filling with Parmesan cheese. Everyone loved it. Next time I may sprinkle the crust with garlic and parmesan. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was such a great recipe, and very easy and quick to make. I made the dough in my bread machine and it came out perfect. I omitted the ricotta cheese because my family does not care for it, and replaced the cheddar cheese with mozzarella. I also sprinkled some garlic power and parmesan cheese on the top before baking. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I agree with "mrsdi's" review about the cheddar cheese. I've never ever seen a calzone made in this fashion. I omitted the cheddar and added just the ricotta with the parsley, salt and pepper with sausage and it was truly awesome after the omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmrivera67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The recipe is not bad, first time making calzone. I gave it four stars because I think the recipe needs to be tweaked a little. I would not roll the dough thin, also if you have a baking stone or a vented pizza baking pan I would use that. I would try the recipe one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
There was way too much seasoning in these so I am going to try it again only this time with some pizza sauce and pepperoni. Also, the recipe I made said it made 4 servings but in my family it was really 3 servings. My husband can eat one all by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made these as described with ingredients, but instead made 8 smaller pockets so they could be taken as leftovers (since there are only 2 people in my household.) I consider myself a novice cook with the only knowledge gleamed from this website and reviews from other users. These came out so yummy. The outside was firm but still soft and chewy inside. We would have liked to have more "stuff" inside, so in the future we plan to add more cheese, some additional veggies, and try different meats. We had a jar of pizza sauce in the cabinet already, so we used that to dip into. It was great fresh made and re-heated well the next day. As long as you have about an hour and a half to make a dinner, this is fabulous and a fun choice. We will make these at our next party and allow guest to pick from a variety of "pizza toppings" and let them make their own calzone! Friends are looking forward to it already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States