Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
you need to put a slit on the top before you bake in oven to let steam escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe very easy I thought I would mess up the crust but I didn"t . One suggestion make them smaller. 6 would be nice and big enough to handle. Let these sit for 5-10 minutes to cool and set a bit. I did add 1\2 cup of red sauce .Don't be afaid to use different filling ingredience . served with a salad. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I am italian , I live in Italy and I am a cook. The real calzone is just mozzarella tomato and fresh basil. Thist one is a type of calzone made close to Naples. Not cheddar at all.. No one in Italy uses or know the cheddar.just mozzarella ricotta salame and egg....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I set this up as a build your own calzone for a dinner party and it turned out fantastic! Everyone loved these calzones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I use this dough recipe every time I make calzones. I switch up the fillings, but I always use this dough. It's easy to make, bakes nicely, and has a good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
MMMMMM! I made these with only one substitution-- mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. These taste so similar to a family restaurant I used to frequent made. They would pour a home made meat sauce all over the top and a mound to Parmesan! Ill try that next time and save 15 bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Made double batch and they were eaten in one day. Family loved the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Subbed in whole wheat flour for half of the AP with beautiful results. I also subbed mozz for the cheddar. Next time we'll use Italian sausage, as the adults were underwhelmed with the pepperoni. Definitely need to prick the tops with a fork or create a vent, as they did explode the filling a bit. Everyone loved them, including my very picky 4yo. I broke it into 4 calzones, but it could easily have been 6 or 8. Overall, a good recipe that needs only a little tweaking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This dough is amazing.. soft and light.. I will never have to shop for calzones again! Impossible to find any good ones I wanted to try to make them at home and this recipe delivered! I made as directed but I think I will mix the cheeses & spice together and put it in and then layer the toppings like I would a pizza. I also used Italian seasoning instead of basil as I didn't have any. We wanted a few smaller ones so we made this into 4.. worked great! Thanks for sharing.. will be using this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Reviewing the dough only. It was pretty good. The family all gave it a thumbs up, kids and grown ups both. It's enough for a good meal for family of 4 but it is not a huge recipe, which is the impression I got from some other reviews. We made up our own fillings. Everyone pick your own. It was fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States