Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
The crust was not good! Just use pre-packaged pizza crust mix and come up with your own filler... I did not care for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This crust was the perfect texture! It seemed just a teensy bit bland... maybe next time I'll skip the egg wash and brush the crusts with butter when they're out of the oven. Since I cook for one, I made eight smaller calzones, and partially baked them before freezing. I can't wait for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These calzones were good, but I don't feel they were great. They were a little too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe came out fine, actually quite tasty....but only because after I realized the dough was not salvagable-- we ran out and got some Pillsbury pizza crust. Not sure if I did something wrong or what but that dough was fubar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My Family LOVES these calzones! Quick meal to make, and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
very good. I made the dough rise twice and then filled it with a dry turkish sausage, ricotta, mix of cheddar, provolone, mozz. and parm cheese. I mixed a little water with the egg and beat that to brush on top and it came out very good. My hubby, brother and father in law loved it! This is very versatile and you can pretty much make any mixture to put in it...i think i will try chicken and spinach next! I also used a yeast for pizza dough from fleishman's yeasts. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
These turned out really good. I tried brushing them with olive oil instead of the egg, but realized I should have done the egg to begin with. The olive oil makes it look dry, the egg on the other hand adds a nice golden color. Also, next time I will use less ricotta and more mozzarella (which I used instead of the cheddar). My husband loved them. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanne
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fantastic- this came out perfect. The dough was just the right texture and flavor. The crust was crispy with just the right balance of sweet and savory. I followed the dough instructions to the letter and modified the fillings to suit. Hawaiian style will be my next try (pineapple/ham) and then meatballs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was my first ever calzone attempt (I'm a newlywed), and I was SO happy with how easy and cheap this was to make. And the pay off was awesome- totally delicious. I wasn't too big on the basil flavoring that probably gives it its authentic italian taste; I used a pinch of a regular Italian Spice that you can find at any old grocery store. Also, the recipe calls for cheddar and my husband really liked it...but for you picky people out there like me, mozzerella might give you more of a classic pizza flavor. Love this recipe- we just had it 2 nights ago and I'm planning to make it next week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
1st try: 4 stars. I split the dough recipe in half and froze the other half and made two calzones (each being a quarter of the recipe). They came out too crispy b/c I rolled the dough out too thin and baked them for 30 minutes. 2nd try: 5 stars. This time the crust wasn't as thin and they were only baked for 20 minutes. Also, even though this was only half the dough recipe, we still made the full filling recipe. Perfect! Absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States