Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I like to make the dough the night before and leave it to rise on the fridge. That way, we can make a quick weeknight meal. These are a nice alternative to pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I have to agree wtih those who said no to cheddar. It just made the filling oily and separated. I'll find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Super easy recipe for a first time dough user! Was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
My daughter in law made this for us. The bread was so light and fluffy and did not overwhelm the ingredients. She put everything but the kitchen sink in them. My husband was still talking about them as he was falling asleep muttering (That was the best cal zone I have ever had. Better than any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This recipe is a family favorite. Lots of teenage boys at our house so I usually double the recipe and make 6 good sized calzones. A doubled recipe of dough works well in my bread maker on the dough setting. If the boys aren't able to eat the entire calzone, they love taking what is left over for lunch the next day. 2 cups of mozzarella (for a single batch) and more toppings choices are the standard here as well as italian seasoning instead of the dried basil, with everyone adding in what ever ingredients they prefer. We make veggie versions as well as the meat eater favorites. Don't forget your favorite sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, other than cutting 2 slits in each calzone with a serrated knife in order to release steam. It was good, especially with "Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site, but 1/2 cup of each filling was barely enough to detect when eating. I recommend using a cup of each filling, even if it means you have to omit one in order to make it fit. The dough was a little "bready" for my husband's taste, but I probably let it rise too much since it wasn't supposed to be completely doubled. My son and I liked it that way, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used my own filling recipe, but the crust for this was delicious. I just put everything in my bread machine and the dough came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really good!! Uses the broiler the last 5-10 minutes to make the top crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Ok, I admit it. I totally cheated. I used frozen premade pizza dough. But in my defense, how many people have time to make dough from scratch for a weeknight dinner? If I did that, we'd be eating after bedtime. That all being said, these were GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family went crazy over these. I had to make more. The next batch had different filling but they still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States