Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was EXTREMELY disappointing. I thought the dough was going to be at least good with all the reviews but it was sub-par at best. Don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
A few changes as per others' suggestions. I used mozzerella and ricotta, omitted the cheddar. Also, I used sliced rather than diced pepperoni, and I sealed the calzones with some of the egg, which turned out perfectly. The dough was to die for and the whole thing really hit the spot, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good! I omitted the cheddar and replaced that with a shredded Italian cheese blend. (Family preference) and added some dried thyme, oregano, and garlic powder. This is my first time working with this kind of dough and I didn't realized how big it would roll out to! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe is easy and delish! The dough is perfect for the calzone. I switched out the cheddar for mozzerella cheese with the ricotta. You could fill the dough with anything you want, though. Keep in mind that these get HUGE when they cook so what looks like a small calzone will be mammoth when it's done. This is a great meal for any night but would also impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1artsygal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I used a pizza crust recipe that came with my breaad machine and follow another persons tip for the filling being authentic with recotta, parm, and seasonings, added spegetti sauce(bertoli organic)pepperoni,italian sausage, sauted mushrooms, spinach and mozerrela....we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The dough turned out great. Remember to proof the yeast. I added what I wanted in the calzone like garlic and roasted red pepper. I cooked it on my pizza stone! The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe to use as a spring board to add ingredients for anyones taste. I used a pound of Italian ground sausage, browned and a cup of chopped spinach in ours. I did not use the cheddar or pepperoni. After reading all the suggestions, I divided my dough into 4's and made individual servings and I served it with marina sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Were great when I added sausage and lots of veges. Fantastic filling with cottage cheese, italian cheese, and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These were good, but I think I prefer calzones with sauce already in them. The pizza dough was fantastic, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it made 2 medium sized calzones...enough to feed 2 people. For half recipe I added 1/4 cup pizza sauce, 1/4 cup canned mushrooms, 1/4 cup bk olives & used mozzerella instead of cheddar. I think this would be awesome with sausage. It was done baking at 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States