Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent dough recipe. I have tried a few already and I have to say this was the easiest and most tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made the calzone once and it was tasty. I used turkey pepperoni, mushroom, bell pepper, ricotta and parm cheese. It was yummy. I have used the dough twice to make a breakfast calzone with egg, cheese and sausage. Amazing. The dough is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These looked really awesome when they came out of the oven, but the taste was just ok. The ricotta mixed in with the bread dough and cheddar so I didn't get that melty, cheesyness that I wanted. The bread dough looked great, but just tasted kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is real real good. I like to sprinkle cheese on it and sing the Lady and the Tramp song whilst eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadDog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I used extra ricotta, and also chopped up fresh mozzarella and added some shredded parmesan (instead of cheddar, which i didn't think fit the Italian theme!). They came out very well and I will make them again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We really liked this a lot. I used mozarella rather than cheddar. You can alter fillings to whatever you like. I'd like to try chicken and spinach too. Fun to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Shivers
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Ohh, MY GOODNESS!! This is a mighty fine recipe and I'll be making it again and again. I like it better than any pizza I've ever made at home. I've never made a calzone and didn't know that it had ricotta. That was my favorite part of this recipe. I used pizza dough from Publix (BOGO free this week) and used a little more ricotta than called for. I used Sargento's Pizza Cheese instead of the cheddar. I did add some salt, pepper and garlic salt to the cheese mixture. I also layered very thinly sliced mushrooms and a pile of fresh baby spinach on the filling before closing it up. Oh my, you talk about great flavor and cutting the pepperoni up into tiny pieces really was perfect. Like I said, I'll be making this again and it's so versatile as long as you use the same cheesy mixture. The fillings could be of your choosing.. hamburger, ham, sausage, vegetarian.. put some onions, peppers and more inside. Thank you so much Jenny for posting this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I loved this recipe...tried it for the first time tonight and my family loved it, even kids, which I thought would be picky(they do not like ricotta). YAY!!! They liked ricotta!!!I used pizza cheese & mozerella instead of cheddar, fresh basil instead of dried, & I was in a rush so used frozen bread dough(had that thawing while I was out running erands.) I put pepperoni, portabella mushrooms and onion in mine. So wonderful, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This got a 5 star rating from the hubby (he'd give more stars if he could). I read many of the other reviews for suggestions; here is what I did. Made the dough as instructed, replacing 1 cup of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat instead--did it in the breadmaker on the dough cycle. I refrigerated the dough for 4 hours before using, and it still worked great (brought up to room temp for an hour). I rolled the dough out into 4 smaller calzones--which were still huge. I packed the little suckers right full of mushrooms, onions, ground beef, ricotta, mozzarella, diced tomatoes, feta, ham and pancetta--folded over the dough, pushed the edges together to make a seam, cut a slit into the top of each calzone and pushed the air out gently by pushing on the tops of the calzones before baking. Brushed egg white onto the dough - made the dough crispy and gave it a nice golden colour. Baked as directed. These were fantastic and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
VERY good! While I consider myself fierce competition in the kitchen, I lack confidence when it comes to baking (pretty much anything to do with yeast!). To my surprise, this was MUCH easier to prepare than I thought it would be!!! My only (minor) hiccup was with my dough (mine was pretty sticky and in need of additional flour). NOTE: If you own a bread machine, allow it to do most of the work for you. Select your machine's dough / pizza dough cycle, medium loaf size. When it's ready, deflate your dough and continue on! HANDY TIPS: Mrsdi is correct. REAL calzones DO NOT contain cheddar cheese! Keeping that in mind, I followed her lead closely but also made some personal changes to suit my / our tastes. Instead of cheddar, I subbed shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese. I also decreased the pepperoni by HALF and added 1/4 c. of browned (mild) Italian sausage instead. I then added 1/4 t red pepper flakes, 1/2 t garlic powder, 3/4 t salt, a dash of pepper / parsley, a couple T of grated Parmesan cheese and an egg to bind everything together. I filled my calzones generously, leaving a half inch margin that I "sealed" with beaten egg (this helps the calzone "stick" together). I brushed my calzones with egg (no EVOO for me) and proceeded as directed. FANTASTIC! My hubs HATES ricotta and even he enjoyed these. :) If I can win over my picky husband, I know I did good lol! Jarred pizza sauce worked great for dunking. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Jenny! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States