Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The recipe is not bad, first time making calzone. I gave it four stars because I think the recipe needs to be tweaked a little. I would not roll the dough thin, also if you have a baking stone or a vented pizza baking pan I would use that. I would try the recipe one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
There was way too much seasoning in these so I am going to try it again only this time with some pizza sauce and pepperoni. Also, the recipe I made said it made 4 servings but in my family it was really 3 servings. My husband can eat one all by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made these as described with ingredients, but instead made 8 smaller pockets so they could be taken as leftovers (since there are only 2 people in my household.) I consider myself a novice cook with the only knowledge gleamed from this website and reviews from other users. These came out so yummy. The outside was firm but still soft and chewy inside. We would have liked to have more "stuff" inside, so in the future we plan to add more cheese, some additional veggies, and try different meats. We had a jar of pizza sauce in the cabinet already, so we used that to dip into. It was great fresh made and re-heated well the next day. As long as you have about an hour and a half to make a dinner, this is fabulous and a fun choice. We will make these at our next party and allow guest to pick from a variety of "pizza toppings" and let them make their own calzone! Friends are looking forward to it already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I can't believe I haven't left feedback on this. It is awesome! The family loves it. I use probably more than the recommended amounts of fillings and I also use some ground pork sausage and black olives:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an incredible recipe. I followed everyone elses suggestions and used the recipe for the dough- then made a ricotta/mozzarella mix for the inside with pepperoni. This one goes in the permanent family recipe box! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The calzones I made I'd give five stars, but I did stray from the recipe for the filling. (I also proofed the yeast in the sugar and water for five minutes before adding oil, etc.) I used a 16 oz tub of low-fat ricotta (all I had was low-fat), about 2/3 cup freshly grated parmesan, pepperoni, and fresh herbs. I would love to try adding mozzarella, which I didn't have, especially because I didn't have enough filling for my last calzone. I made eight and each was a good size, perfect for a quick lunch. Other reviewers have noted that the bake time was too long but even with my smaller calzones they took about 25 minutes. And as per others' recommendations, I made the Exquisite Pizza Sauce for dipping and it was excellent. To illustrate how wonderful these are: after taking them out of the oven, I cut one in half and ate it, set the other half with the rest and planned on eating it later. Two hours go by and I return to find every single one is gone, including my half. ;( I suppose I'll have to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I like this version better than those with the sauce in it. The dough doesn't get too soggy this way. Great calzones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I agree with mrsdi...no cheddar cheese. I used Ricotta and Mozzarella because I love the stringy texture of the cheese. I also used salami, bell peppers, onions with the pepperoni. Adding some red pepper flakes makes this recipe absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. Based on the other reviews I thought it would be a little tastier. As suggested, I followed the dough recipe but used the bread machine - found there was a lot of dough; made four very large calzones. I tried the suggested filling for two of the calzones and added some extra ingredients to the other two. Also used the Italian seasoning instead of basil and mozza not cheddar as suggested. Next time I would make calzones even smaller/thinner and cook for 30 minutes, probably try adding some parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent dough recipe. I have tried a few already and I have to say this was the easiest and most tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States