Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. Based on the other reviews I thought it would be a little tastier. As suggested, I followed the dough recipe but used the bread machine - found there was a lot of dough; made four very large calzones. I tried the suggested filling for two of the calzones and added some extra ingredients to the other two. Also used the Italian seasoning instead of basil and mozza not cheddar as suggested. Next time I would make calzones even smaller/thinner and cook for 30 minutes, probably try adding some parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent dough recipe. I have tried a few already and I have to say this was the easiest and most tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made the calzone once and it was tasty. I used turkey pepperoni, mushroom, bell pepper, ricotta and parm cheese. It was yummy. I have used the dough twice to make a breakfast calzone with egg, cheese and sausage. Amazing. The dough is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These looked really awesome when they came out of the oven, but the taste was just ok. The ricotta mixed in with the bread dough and cheddar so I didn't get that melty, cheesyness that I wanted. The bread dough looked great, but just tasted kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is real real good. I like to sprinkle cheese on it and sing the Lady and the Tramp song whilst eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadDog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I used extra ricotta, and also chopped up fresh mozzarella and added some shredded parmesan (instead of cheddar, which i didn't think fit the Italian theme!). They came out very well and I will make them again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We really liked this a lot. I used mozarella rather than cheddar. You can alter fillings to whatever you like. I'd like to try chicken and spinach too. Fun to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Ohh, MY GOODNESS!! This is a mighty fine recipe and I'll be making it again and again. I like it better than any pizza I've ever made at home. I've never made a calzone and didn't know that it had ricotta. That was my favorite part of this recipe. I used pizza dough from Publix (BOGO free this week) and used a little more ricotta than called for. I used Sargento's Pizza Cheese instead of the cheddar. I did add some salt, pepper and garlic salt to the cheese mixture. I also layered very thinly sliced mushrooms and a pile of fresh baby spinach on the filling before closing it up. Oh my, you talk about great flavor and cutting the pepperoni up into tiny pieces really was perfect. Like I said, I'll be making this again and it's so versatile as long as you use the same cheesy mixture. The fillings could be of your choosing.. hamburger, ham, sausage, vegetarian.. put some onions, peppers and more inside. Thank you so much Jenny for posting this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I loved this recipe...tried it for the first time tonight and my family loved it, even kids, which I thought would be picky(they do not like ricotta). YAY!!! They liked ricotta!!!I used pizza cheese & mozerella instead of cheddar, fresh basil instead of dried, & I was in a rush so used frozen bread dough(had that thawing while I was out running erands.) I put pepperoni, portabella mushrooms and onion in mine. So wonderful, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This got a 5 star rating from the hubby (he'd give more stars if he could). I read many of the other reviews for suggestions; here is what I did. Made the dough as instructed, replacing 1 cup of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat instead--did it in the breadmaker on the dough cycle. I refrigerated the dough for 4 hours before using, and it still worked great (brought up to room temp for an hour). I rolled the dough out into 4 smaller calzones--which were still huge. I packed the little suckers right full of mushrooms, onions, ground beef, ricotta, mozzarella, diced tomatoes, feta, ham and pancetta--folded over the dough, pushed the edges together to make a seam, cut a slit into the top of each calzone and pushed the air out gently by pushing on the tops of the calzones before baking. Brushed egg white onto the dough - made the dough crispy and gave it a nice golden colour. Baked as directed. These were fantastic and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States