Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was such a great recipe, and very easy and quick to make. I made the dough in my bread machine and it came out perfect. I omitted the ricotta cheese because my family does not care for it, and replaced the cheddar cheese with mozzarella. I also sprinkled some garlic power and parmesan cheese on the top before baking. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I agree with "mrsdi's" review about the cheddar cheese. I've never ever seen a calzone made in this fashion. I omitted the cheddar and added just the ricotta with the parsley, salt and pepper with sausage and it was truly awesome after the omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmrivera67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The recipe is not bad, first time making calzone. I gave it four stars because I think the recipe needs to be tweaked a little. I would not roll the dough thin, also if you have a baking stone or a vented pizza baking pan I would use that. I would try the recipe one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
There was way too much seasoning in these so I am going to try it again only this time with some pizza sauce and pepperoni. Also, the recipe I made said it made 4 servings but in my family it was really 3 servings. My husband can eat one all by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made these as described with ingredients, but instead made 8 smaller pockets so they could be taken as leftovers (since there are only 2 people in my household.) I consider myself a novice cook with the only knowledge gleamed from this website and reviews from other users. These came out so yummy. The outside was firm but still soft and chewy inside. We would have liked to have more "stuff" inside, so in the future we plan to add more cheese, some additional veggies, and try different meats. We had a jar of pizza sauce in the cabinet already, so we used that to dip into. It was great fresh made and re-heated well the next day. As long as you have about an hour and a half to make a dinner, this is fabulous and a fun choice. We will make these at our next party and allow guest to pick from a variety of "pizza toppings" and let them make their own calzone! Friends are looking forward to it already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I can't believe I haven't left feedback on this. It is awesome! The family loves it. I use probably more than the recommended amounts of fillings and I also use some ground pork sausage and black olives:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an incredible recipe. I followed everyone elses suggestions and used the recipe for the dough- then made a ricotta/mozzarella mix for the inside with pepperoni. This one goes in the permanent family recipe box! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The calzones I made I'd give five stars, but I did stray from the recipe for the filling. (I also proofed the yeast in the sugar and water for five minutes before adding oil, etc.) I used a 16 oz tub of low-fat ricotta (all I had was low-fat), about 2/3 cup freshly grated parmesan, pepperoni, and fresh herbs. I would love to try adding mozzarella, which I didn't have, especially because I didn't have enough filling for my last calzone. I made eight and each was a good size, perfect for a quick lunch. Other reviewers have noted that the bake time was too long but even with my smaller calzones they took about 25 minutes. And as per others' recommendations, I made the Exquisite Pizza Sauce for dipping and it was excellent. To illustrate how wonderful these are: after taking them out of the oven, I cut one in half and ate it, set the other half with the rest and planned on eating it later. Two hours go by and I return to find every single one is gone, including my half. ;( I suppose I'll have to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I like this version better than those with the sauce in it. The dough doesn't get too soggy this way. Great calzones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I agree with mrsdi...no cheddar cheese. I used Ricotta and Mozzarella because I love the stringy texture of the cheese. I also used salami, bell peppers, onions with the pepperoni. Adding some red pepper flakes makes this recipe absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States