Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This recipe is right on the money and very good. I double it and make 8. Cook on 2 medium jelly roll pans. 1/2 per kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I love the recipe. It depends on who is eating(husband, younger son, grandsons) on how big I make them. My son is not a fan of ricotta so I started experimenting with different fillings. Everything from ham and cheese to pizza filling. I generally double or triple the dough and instead of 2 large calzones I make a bunch of smaller ones. I take the extras and after cooking them I allow them to cool, wrap in waxed paper and place them in a gallon size freezer baggie. They are wonderful for a quick lunch or if chaos makes supper a hassle, I can heat up a bunch for dinner. Just popped in the microwave in the waxed paper or put in a preheated oven until nice and hot. This dough has so much potential for different types of sandwiches, you can add practically anything for a great lunch or dinner. I'll try chicken and vegetables with a light sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made it with mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar my husband loved it! It had 2 much cheese for me, when I make it next time I'll cut down on the cheese for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
The dough is delicious but it makes two HUGE calzones. Be careful not to roll the dough out too thin either.... Tomato Lava ooze. Oh yea and we cheated and put the red sauce inside... I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
My 13yo son LOVES these! He's a skinny little guy, but he can easily eat 4 at a time. It's easy to adjust the ingredients to your personal tastes. This is a winner in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
The crust was awesome!! I did change it up a bit. I used shredded mozzarella, a very small bit (about a tablespoon per calzone) of my own homemade pizza sauce, cream cheese slathered on the dough ( I didn't have ricotta on hand), chopped fresh spinach, chopped ham, onion, & green peppers. It was PERFECT!! I divided the dough into 4 pieces so my family could request different ingredients for each of their calzones. I was lucky to even get a taste!! I am only giving 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly as is. Just b/c I've never heard of authentic Italian calzone recipes using cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CucaCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Italian or not these are delicious. To bad I didn't discovered them before. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I LOVE This Recipe! Have made several times. Has always turned out awesome and I totally eat the out of it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This recipe is great! I usually don't make calzones but the dough I use all the time! It works great for pizza dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockstartailor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I did not make the dough. Instead, I purchased fresh ready made from my local grocery store. Also, I used mozzarella cheese instead of the cheddar since so many seemed to think it was the wrong cheese for calzones. The result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States