Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Subbed in whole wheat flour for half of the AP with beautiful results. I also subbed mozz for the cheddar. Next time we'll use Italian sausage, as the adults were underwhelmed with the pepperoni. Definitely need to prick the tops with a fork or create a vent, as they did explode the filling a bit. Everyone loved them, including my very picky 4yo. I broke it into 4 calzones, but it could easily have been 6 or 8. Overall, a good recipe that needs only a little tweaking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This dough is amazing.. soft and light.. I will never have to shop for calzones again! Impossible to find any good ones I wanted to try to make them at home and this recipe delivered! I made as directed but I think I will mix the cheeses & spice together and put it in and then layer the toppings like I would a pizza. I also used Italian seasoning instead of basil as I didn't have any. We wanted a few smaller ones so we made this into 4.. worked great! Thanks for sharing.. will be using this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Reviewing the dough only. It was pretty good. The family all gave it a thumbs up, kids and grown ups both. It's enough for a good meal for family of 4 but it is not a huge recipe, which is the impression I got from some other reviews. We made up our own fillings. Everyone pick your own. It was fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I used this recipe as a guideline. I purchased ready made dough from Trader Joe's. Stuffing: Provolone, mozzarella cheeses and sour creme, mixed with cooked mushrooms, onion, garlic and ground Italian sausage. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
As the dad,I have tried this recipe twice now, and as the regular cook in the kitchen in my home, my two disabled children are requesting this meal on a regular basis. Thank you. You have 5 Yums Up from my home. I use my own alterations to keep it different each time: Alfredo instead of Pizza/Spaghetti Sauce, Mozzarella instead of Cheddar (preferred), Broccoli, toasted Garlic cloves, Baby Portobella Mushrooms, and Italian Sausage. I have even used ground (Wild Game)Turkey with fresh oregano and basil I grow on my window sill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iaeger, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was just okay, I subbed pre-made pizza dough from our local bakery. I used mozzarella cheese, I am not a fan of cheddar in Italian food. I think it needed more, but it's definitely adaptable from this basic recipe. I think next time I will omit the ricotta, or add less, and add more meat like italian sausage, fresh basil leaves, spinach, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Rating only the bread mixture as I completely changed the inside to our individual taste so each one was very different. Very easy to make. Only thing I would change is to turn it into 4 calzones instead of just 2. Trying to move them to the pan with them being as big as they were was a complete nightmare. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made the dough exactly as written and it turned out perfectly chewy and crusty and crispy...mmmm! For the filling I used sweet peppers (red, yellow, and orange), onions, green onions, diced salami and pepperoni (simply because I had all of it on hand and it needed to be used up). Also threw in some goat cheese along with mozza, jalapeno cheddar and old cheddar. It was delicious! Thank you for sharing. PS: My stepkids said cucumber salad dressing went really well as a dip on the side with the calzones. I didn't try it, but putting it out there if someone else is adventurous enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotInUse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
loved it we add some different things almost every time you can experiment with different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I think this is a great recipe. I found it very easy to make and very easy to modify the filling. I agree with another reviewer that adding a dash or two of pepper and using mozzarella cheese is better, but it's all what appeals to the individual cook - isn't that the great thing about calzone? This makes 4 large calzone. I let kids build their own by mixing the cheeses with basil and pepper and then having an assortment of other items they could add. A note of caution to not overfill them or put much liquid in the filling; both may cause breaks in the sealed edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States