Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Reviewing the dough only. It was pretty good. The family all gave it a thumbs up, kids and grown ups both. It's enough for a good meal for family of 4 but it is not a huge recipe, which is the impression I got from some other reviews. We made up our own fillings. Everyone pick your own. It was fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I used this recipe as a guideline. I purchased ready made dough from Trader Joe's. Stuffing: Provolone, mozzarella cheeses and sour creme, mixed with cooked mushrooms, onion, garlic and ground Italian sausage. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
As the dad,I have tried this recipe twice now, and as the regular cook in the kitchen in my home, my two disabled children are requesting this meal on a regular basis. Thank you. You have 5 Yums Up from my home. I use my own alterations to keep it different each time: Alfredo instead of Pizza/Spaghetti Sauce, Mozzarella instead of Cheddar (preferred), Broccoli, toasted Garlic cloves, Baby Portobella Mushrooms, and Italian Sausage. I have even used ground (Wild Game)Turkey with fresh oregano and basil I grow on my window sill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iaeger, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was just okay, I subbed pre-made pizza dough from our local bakery. I used mozzarella cheese, I am not a fan of cheddar in Italian food. I think it needed more, but it's definitely adaptable from this basic recipe. I think next time I will omit the ricotta, or add less, and add more meat like italian sausage, fresh basil leaves, spinach, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Rating only the bread mixture as I completely changed the inside to our individual taste so each one was very different. Very easy to make. Only thing I would change is to turn it into 4 calzones instead of just 2. Trying to move them to the pan with them being as big as they were was a complete nightmare. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made the dough exactly as written and it turned out perfectly chewy and crusty and crispy...mmmm! For the filling I used sweet peppers (red, yellow, and orange), onions, green onions, diced salami and pepperoni (simply because I had all of it on hand and it needed to be used up). Also threw in some goat cheese along with mozza, jalapeno cheddar and old cheddar. It was delicious! Thank you for sharing. PS: My stepkids said cucumber salad dressing went really well as a dip on the side with the calzones. I didn't try it, but putting it out there if someone else is adventurous enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotInUse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
loved it we add some different things almost every time you can experiment with different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I think this is a great recipe. I found it very easy to make and very easy to modify the filling. I agree with another reviewer that adding a dash or two of pepper and using mozzarella cheese is better, but it's all what appeals to the individual cook - isn't that the great thing about calzone? This makes 4 large calzone. I let kids build their own by mixing the cheeses with basil and pepper and then having an assortment of other items they could add. A note of caution to not overfill them or put much liquid in the filling; both may cause breaks in the sealed edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
As others said, this is really bready crust, like thick pizza dough, i will therefore roll much thinner next time if i ever make it again. The filling was 'way tweaked' by me. I added 6 oz. fressh chopped spinach. . . .15 or so oz. of ricotta. . .more parmesean than recommended. Overall, just test your filling. Add maragoram (sp?) and basil (smaller amt) and other seasonings. I think you could add anything, even sauce. I did. Overall, an okay basic recipe that needs a lot of tweaking. I used colby jack because i found the flavor to enhance the otherwise bland filling. Just add up teh amt of filling, and figure how much you need and then change it to your liking. I added sauteed onion as well. Crust was very hard but perhaps i should've known to use a cheap white flour for softer texture?. . .i used whole grain white flour. Use another recipe or tweak this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iaintnopokerface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
11/13 one dough from shop rite is good for 3 calzones for 3 people. i used no cheddar cheese, i followed a reviewer and used about 1 cup of ricotta, an egg some shredded mozz cheese, some parm cheese, s&p and parsley. dip in heated tom. sauce. spray with canola spray pan and calzone. 6/14: made 3 really big ones, i think i can do 4 smaller next time. also, don't add a whole egg, only half and then use the other half to brush on top. otherwise great wtih pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States