Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Great! Thanks for sharing! Never had a calzone quite like this and it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Fantastic!! This is very good dough to make a calzone. If you prefer more filling than dough, make sure to roll out your dough as thin as possible because it will rise some in the oven and come out thicker than it went in. Thanks for the recipe Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
fantastic!! I did change up the filling a bit... for the kids I did mozzarella cheese, mini pepperonis and pizza sauce. for myself I did mozzarella cheese, tomatoes, black olives and chicken cooked with a bit of garlic. I made the dough according split it up to make four HUGE calzones. everyone walked away full and everyone gave it a two thumbs up. I will definitely be making these again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
great recipe! the greatest was the crust which i made as recipe said to, the rest..which is the filling.. the possibilities are endless! oh and i definitely subbed mozzarella for the cheddar! i would use cheddar only sparingly if AT ALL. i also added shredded Parmesan cheese but the rest was as is. and sooooooooo goood will make many more times, the hardest part was the crust but it was worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Eh, not impressed. The dough was nice, but the filling needs work. I wouldn't make it again. I didn't care for the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Delicious! My husband absolutely LOVED these calzones .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good, I used mozz cheese instead of ched, and toppings to my liking and it turned out better then I could have expected. Homemade sauce on the side. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jin-Mee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I'm giving this five stars, not as a calzone, but as a pizza crust! I searched forever to find the perfect crust and here it is. It makes up quickly, no proofing of the yeast, and it stretches out nice and soft. Here are pizza making tips: make the pizza on parchment paper and slide the whole paper and pizza onto the preheated pizza stone, then when cooked, slide the whole thing off onto a cookie sheet. Done. Also, try tomato paste straight out of the jar instead of sauce. If your pizza gets too wet, it's gross. The paste gives a lot of tomato flavor without any wetness. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I'm rating the dough and it was great. I got 4 a little bigger the personal size calzones. I also added 1 tsp of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I'm only rating the crust because I used different filling, but the crust was perfect! it baked to perfection (in 20 mins) and the color and texture was great. very soft and yummy. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Natasha~

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States