Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made smaller sized calzones to serve as appetizers and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved the way the dough crisped on the out outside and soft and moist inside. I substituted the cheddar with mozzarella and added a link of hot italian sausage (cooked and crumbled). This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
The dough is great. Do what you want to the insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
nice change. good flavor.i mae 4 of them i wish i would have added more stuffing. it doesnt look like they will even close with all that stuffing but when you cook them it doesnt look like nearly enough. i used mozzerela instead of cheddar of course. i didnt use mushrooms but next time i think ill make it with sausage. i always have a hard time with any dough i make coming out to crunchy, i dont know what im doing wrong there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
WOW! Can't say enough about this dough! I love making pizza's at home and have always bought the fresh dough from our local bakery. I end of fighting with it most of the time, so I decided to try this one. I accidently bought the rapid rise yeast and panicked for a moment since the last time I used yeast was in home economics in 7th grade! Anyways, just added the yeast to the dry ingredients. I used the hook attachment on my mixer and it turned out perfect. I only needed 2 cups of flour. I still let it rise for about 30-40 minutes, but only because I wasn't ready to make them yet. The dough was so easy to work with! I stuck the the recipe except for swapping out an Italian blend cheese for the chedder and I doubled the mushrooms (we love mushrooms!) and sauteed them in garlic and olive oil. It was awesome! They turned out beautiful and enormous! One of my calzones ended up busting at the seams, I will try the egg wash next time to seal the edges. I only had to cook them for about 20 minutes and they were perfect. I will not be fighting with store dough anymore!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betsy
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My family really loved these yummy calzones. The only reason I left 4 stars is because I modified the recipe by subbing mozarella for the cheddar. I would definitely make these again. Fun for cooking night with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Overall good recipe, but no self respecting Italian would use Cheddar cheese! Ricotta should be doubled and Mozzarella and/or even Provolone should be used instead of Cheddar. Also, have fun with substitutes/additions to the pepperoni and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I bought the ready mix dough and I disregarded the cheddar for Mozzarella. They turned out beautiful and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Excellent minus the cheddar. Mozzarella made a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I only used the dough recipe, didn't use the filling, I used this for the BBQ Chicken Calzone on here. This was super easy to do I've only ever made dough a few times and it hasn't turned out, but this did! Even whe was mucking around with the yeast! I only gave it 4 stars however because it really needs extra seasoning or something, probably garlic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe does not need any adjustments as far as the dough is concerned. Dough made exactly as the directions say, is quick and easy! It's a pretty good dough. It made 1 large one, 2 medium ones, and 1 small calzones. If you want to take the time and make real good dough, do so with another recipe but this is meant to be a quick and easy one! Now, cheddar cheese in a calzone? Never. I used a 15oz container of ricotta and sliced a large fresh mozzarella ball. I layered the ricotta down, then the veggies/meat items, and the mozzie on top of that. I omitted the egg, so I brushed the top with garlic butter after it came out of the oven. They still baked at the same temp for the same time. Served them with tomato sauce. It's pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States