Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe came out fine, actually quite tasty....but only because after I realized the dough was not salvagable-- we ran out and got some Pillsbury pizza crust. Not sure if I did something wrong or what but that dough was fubar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My Family LOVES these calzones! Quick meal to make, and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
very good. I made the dough rise twice and then filled it with a dry turkish sausage, ricotta, mix of cheddar, provolone, mozz. and parm cheese. I mixed a little water with the egg and beat that to brush on top and it came out very good. My hubby, brother and father in law loved it! This is very versatile and you can pretty much make any mixture to put in it...i think i will try chicken and spinach next! I also used a yeast for pizza dough from fleishman's yeasts. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
These turned out really good. I tried brushing them with olive oil instead of the egg, but realized I should have done the egg to begin with. The olive oil makes it look dry, the egg on the other hand adds a nice golden color. Also, next time I will use less ricotta and more mozzarella (which I used instead of the cheddar). My husband loved them. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanne
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fantastic- this came out perfect. The dough was just the right texture and flavor. The crust was crispy with just the right balance of sweet and savory. I followed the dough instructions to the letter and modified the fillings to suit. Hawaiian style will be my next try (pineapple/ham) and then meatballs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was my first ever calzone attempt (I'm a newlywed), and I was SO happy with how easy and cheap this was to make. And the pay off was awesome- totally delicious. I wasn't too big on the basil flavoring that probably gives it its authentic italian taste; I used a pinch of a regular Italian Spice that you can find at any old grocery store. Also, the recipe calls for cheddar and my husband really liked it...but for you picky people out there like me, mozzerella might give you more of a classic pizza flavor. Love this recipe- we just had it 2 nights ago and I'm planning to make it next week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
1st try: 4 stars. I split the dough recipe in half and froze the other half and made two calzones (each being a quarter of the recipe). They came out too crispy b/c I rolled the dough out too thin and baked them for 30 minutes. 2nd try: 5 stars. This time the crust wasn't as thin and they were only baked for 20 minutes. Also, even though this was only half the dough recipe, we still made the full filling recipe. Perfect! Absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Delicious and not too difficult. I'll definitely be using this recipe again. (Of course without cheddar, that's just wrong.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These have a lot of promise, though I think that they require a lot more attempts before I make really great ones. I made my first ones mostly with ricotta, but I think it would be better with 1/2 ricotta, 1/2 mozz and maybe only a full cup in total. More pepporoni and mushrooms! And for some reason it's hard to make enough with given recipe, so I scaled it to 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made smaller sized calzones to serve as appetizers and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved the way the dough crisped on the out outside and soft and moist inside. I substituted the cheddar with mozzarella and added a link of hot italian sausage (cooked and crumbled). This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States