Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Dough was very nice to work with...took another reviews advice and sprinkled with parm cheese and garlic salt. My husband loved them and I can't wait to experiment with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made this twice in two weeks. First of all, each time i made these, I divided the dough into four smaller calzones. Very easy and you can use so many fillings! I did one with just pepperoni (served with spaghetti sauce for dipping) and one with buffalo chicken(added 1/2 c chicken and 1/2 c hot sauce) and one with meatballs(used 1/2 c quartered meatballs and 1/2 c spaghetti sauce with some additional for dipping)!!! I did add sauce obviously to the buffalo chicken and meatball calzones, but they were good and I would do it again. I also used mozzarella cheese for all three. So good!! Can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
If you want cheddar in your calzone, put it in there - cheddar is just a suggestion! Just a quick tip: Heat your oven to 200 degrees while you're preparing the dough then shut the oven off. Cover your prepared dough with a damp towel and place it in the oven on/in a bake-safe container for the time directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAJEUNIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Good but a real calzone besides eating the sauce on the side has mozzarella cheese not cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was so so. The crust was pretty tough, and the fillings run out when you cut into it. Probably will look for another Calzone recipe. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was great. I didn't have ricotta cheese, but made it with everything else and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were so much easier to make than I anticipated. The dough came out beautiful and was so easy to work with. They baked up a golden brown and tasted so good. I did use cottage cheese (didn't have any ricotta), and after brushing the dough with egg, I sprinkled with garlic salt and parmesan cheese. Wonderful snack/lunch idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe. I make this at least once per week for the family and it is enjoyed by everyone. I didn't have to tamper with this recipe.... everything was right on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
The crust was not good! Just use pre-packaged pizza crust mix and come up with your own filler... I did not care for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This crust was the perfect texture! It seemed just a teensy bit bland... maybe next time I'll skip the egg wash and brush the crusts with butter when they're out of the oven. Since I cook for one, I made eight smaller calzones, and partially baked them before freezing. I can't wait for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States