Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The dough turned out great. Remember to proof the yeast. I added what I wanted in the calzone like garlic and roasted red pepper. I cooked it on my pizza stone! The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe to use as a spring board to add ingredients for anyones taste. I used a pound of Italian ground sausage, browned and a cup of chopped spinach in ours. I did not use the cheddar or pepperoni. After reading all the suggestions, I divided my dough into 4's and made individual servings and I served it with marina sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Were great when I added sausage and lots of veges. Fantastic filling with cottage cheese, italian cheese, and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These were good, but I think I prefer calzones with sauce already in them. The pizza dough was fantastic, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it made 2 medium sized calzones...enough to feed 2 people. For half recipe I added 1/4 cup pizza sauce, 1/4 cup canned mushrooms, 1/4 cup bk olives & used mozzerella instead of cheddar. I think this would be awesome with sausage. It was done baking at 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I am really only reviewing the dough, as I went a less "traditional" route with the filling. The dough was absolutely perfect! I kept everything exactly as written and it was easy to work with and baked up wonderful. For fillings, I did regular pizza sauce, a mozzarella/cheddar blend, sliced olives, pepperoni, ground beef, and mushrooms. These were a HUGE hit with my kids, who really enjoyed putting in their own toppings in their "pizza pockets." I'll definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made the dough in my bread machine...came out great! Very easy to work with. However, the taste of the ricotta was a bit strange to me. I'm used to it in lasagna but not in a calzone. I paired with exquisite pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The calzone dough was amazing! (easy to work w/ & a nice consistency) I threw all the dough ingredients in my bread machine & let it do the work. I brushed EVOO over them before baking. (no egg) I will be making regularly!!! Next time I will try the filling. This time I tried the new cooking creme from Phillidelphia Cream Cheese in the Savory Garlic Flavor (recipe on top of pkg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
They were okay - need to roll thinner next time. Also, tried olive oil per another review, but will try egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Dough was very nice to work with...took another reviews advice and sprinkled with parm cheese and garlic salt. My husband loved them and I can't wait to experiment with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States