Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good! I omitted the cheddar and replaced that with a shredded Italian cheese blend. (Family preference) and added some dried thyme, oregano, and garlic powder. This is my first time working with this kind of dough and I didn't realized how big it would roll out to! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe is easy and delish! The dough is perfect for the calzone. I switched out the cheddar for mozzerella cheese with the ricotta. You could fill the dough with anything you want, though. Keep in mind that these get HUGE when they cook so what looks like a small calzone will be mammoth when it's done. This is a great meal for any night but would also impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1artsygal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I used a pizza crust recipe that came with my breaad machine and follow another persons tip for the filling being authentic with recotta, parm, and seasonings, added spegetti sauce(bertoli organic)pepperoni,italian sausage, sauted mushrooms, spinach and mozerrela....we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The dough turned out great. Remember to proof the yeast. I added what I wanted in the calzone like garlic and roasted red pepper. I cooked it on my pizza stone! The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe to use as a spring board to add ingredients for anyones taste. I used a pound of Italian ground sausage, browned and a cup of chopped spinach in ours. I did not use the cheddar or pepperoni. After reading all the suggestions, I divided my dough into 4's and made individual servings and I served it with marina sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Were great when I added sausage and lots of veges. Fantastic filling with cottage cheese, italian cheese, and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These were good, but I think I prefer calzones with sauce already in them. The pizza dough was fantastic, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it made 2 medium sized calzones...enough to feed 2 people. For half recipe I added 1/4 cup pizza sauce, 1/4 cup canned mushrooms, 1/4 cup bk olives & used mozzerella instead of cheddar. I think this would be awesome with sausage. It was done baking at 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I am really only reviewing the dough, as I went a less "traditional" route with the filling. The dough was absolutely perfect! I kept everything exactly as written and it was easy to work with and baked up wonderful. For fillings, I did regular pizza sauce, a mozzarella/cheddar blend, sliced olives, pepperoni, ground beef, and mushrooms. These were a HUGE hit with my kids, who really enjoyed putting in their own toppings in their "pizza pockets." I'll definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made the dough in my bread machine...came out great! Very easy to work with. However, the taste of the ricotta was a bit strange to me. I'm used to it in lasagna but not in a calzone. I paired with exquisite pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States