Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe very much. I do make this recipe into 6 or 8 small calzones instead. I also add a little parmesan cheese and garlic salt on top before baking to add a little someting. I have also used sausage and pepperoni combo and a ham and cheese inside and it is very tasty! Great for sending with kids for a school lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great recipe, 2 thumbs way up on this one! I used spicy italian sausage, pepperoni, mozzarella, steamed green/ red peppers, onions, and sprinkled garlic powder on the dough...Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Easy recipe a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
AWESOME dough! Filling can obviously vary as much as you want. I now have another alternative to sandwiches to send in my kids lunches... will definitely use these every week or two to give them a break from sandwiches... after making them for supper the night before, so that I can have a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I bought pizza dough from the lock store and used it for the crust, also used mozz. cheese instead of chedder. Added pepperoni or susage and yummy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was excellent. I was looking for a recipe for the calzone crust and this one turned out wonderfully. It was a great texture, nice and thin instead of bready, and browned nicely when baked. I didn't follow the recipe exactly for the filling, so will just stick to a simple review of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
First time was a raving success. Yum,yum, Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I thought these turned out great! I really liked the dough. I just gave it a 4 because I made a few changes based on other reviews. I did add a little sauce to the inside, and used mozzarella instead. I also brushed it with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt. Will make the dough again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was EXTREMELY disappointing. I thought the dough was going to be at least good with all the reviews but it was sub-par at best. Don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
A few changes as per others' suggestions. I used mozzerella and ricotta, omitted the cheddar. Also, I used sliced rather than diced pepperoni, and I sealed the calzones with some of the egg, which turned out perfectly. The dough was to die for and the whole thing really hit the spot, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States