Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
FANTASTIC! Dipping it in pizza sauce takes it to the next level :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Made this tonight - and even my picky 4 1/2 yr old ate his! The dough was super easy to make, and tasted great. I think I may add some italian seasoning to it next time..and there will be a next time! I used mozz in place of the cheddar & served w/ the easy pizza sauce III recipe from this site, w/ cindy18lou's mods. Super good - the only problem I can see is that there aren't any leftovers for tomorrow! UPDATE: Doubled the recipe w/ no trouble. I've found that the thinner you roll the dough, the better - almost to the point where it is about to tear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Made with shredded Mozzarella cheese, Pepperoni, oregano and Parmesan cheese - FANTASTIC!! Proof the yeast before with the teaspoon of sug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I even used the dough recipe for pizza. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was a big hit with the family. It was easy to make and tasted fantastic. I used mozzarella instead of cheddar, and sausage instead of pepperoni. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Loved this recipe, but am giving it 4 stars because I changed it a bit. Didn't have the time to do homemade dough, so I bought frozen bread dough as suggested and it worked great. I also took the advise to mix the ricotta with egg, parmesan cheese, parsley, and pepper. I used pepperoni, italian sausage, and mushrooms and everyone loved it. I have a big family and it's rare that everyone agrees. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Crust is great. These are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe very much. I do make this recipe into 6 or 8 small calzones instead. I also add a little parmesan cheese and garlic salt on top before baking to add a little someting. I have also used sausage and pepperoni combo and a ham and cheese inside and it is very tasty! Great for sending with kids for a school lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great recipe, 2 thumbs way up on this one! I used spicy italian sausage, pepperoni, mozzarella, steamed green/ red peppers, onions, and sprinkled garlic powder on the dough...Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Easy recipe a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States