Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Cheddar cheese? I'm not italian, but I grew up surrounded by Italians on the Jersey Shore. Not one Italian or Italian restaurant where I'd get "real" calzones would DARE put cheddar cheese in one! Ricotta and Mozzarella cheese ONLY! Maybe some ham, pepperoni or sausage for meat and maybe veggies. But NEVER cheddar cheese! Just because you serve sauce on the side, does NOT make it "real italian". Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
My daughter in law made this for us. The bread was so light and fluffy and did not overwhelm the ingredients. She put everything but the kitchen sink in them. My husband was still talking about them as he was falling asleep muttering (That was the best cal zone I have ever had. Better than any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This recipe is a family favorite. Lots of teenage boys at our house so I usually double the recipe and make 6 good sized calzones. A doubled recipe of dough works well in my bread maker on the dough setting. If the boys aren't able to eat the entire calzone, they love taking what is left over for lunch the next day. 2 cups of mozzarella (for a single batch) and more toppings choices are the standard here as well as italian seasoning instead of the dried basil, with everyone adding in what ever ingredients they prefer. We make veggie versions as well as the meat eater favorites. Don't forget your favorite sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, other than cutting 2 slits in each calzone with a serrated knife in order to release steam. It was good, especially with "Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site, but 1/2 cup of each filling was barely enough to detect when eating. I recommend using a cup of each filling, even if it means you have to omit one in order to make it fit. The dough was a little "bready" for my husband's taste, but I probably let it rise too much since it wasn't supposed to be completely doubled. My son and I liked it that way, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used my own filling recipe, but the crust for this was delicious. I just put everything in my bread machine and the dough came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really good!! Uses the broiler the last 5-10 minutes to make the top crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Ok, I admit it. I totally cheated. I used frozen premade pizza dough. But in my defense, how many people have time to make dough from scratch for a weeknight dinner? If I did that, we'd be eating after bedtime. That all being said, these were GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family went crazy over these. I had to make more. The next batch had different filling but they still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Amazine dough, amazing calzone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FallHat
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Like another viewer mentioned very easy dough to work with. Made these with my homemade ricotta cheese recipe. Entire family loved them. Very easy to make and fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States