Real Hungarian Goulash (No Tomato Paste Here) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I agree this recipe is excellent but is not for Gulyas which is always a soup in Hungary. It is one of the best I have seen for a meat stew as Peter Tanczos noted. My hungarian husband agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is, basically, the viennese version of goulash , in Hungary this would be a pörkölt. To get a real rich, creamy sauce try to use the equal weight of onions and beef! As far as the meat concerns I personally use shank without bone (?), cut into large chunks. You can, and have to, cook it for hours (3-4), and that is what goulash is all about, it has to simmer until the onions fall apart and form this incredibly creamy dark sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dietmar Schöbitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have been making this recipe for years and have gotten a ton of raves over it. Thank you for posting it and for heavens sake make it the way it is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Wonderful! I used olive oil instead of the lard. (my Hungarian grandmas would shudder!) Other than that, I made as directed...yum! I'm making it again tonight. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These are the same ingredients my Hungarian family uses but cooks a little differently. My Mom tosses the beef in a little flour seasoned with salt, pepper and a little paprika then browns it before adding the onions. This would thicken the sauce a little as it cooked She would also sometimes add a beef bouillion cube if it was handy. I agree that tomato sauce has no place in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have made "goulash" for many years! I now add peppers and mushrooms to mine for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sossepos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was not for us at all, seriously lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Stuck to the recipe close except toward the end, instead of adding water or broth I added a cup of RED WINE. Hit the spot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe with moose too. Even my moose meat snubbing friends loved it! Thanks, a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States