Real Hungarian Goulash (No Tomato Paste Here) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Maurice
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I made this recipe but decided to brown the meat first in stages, and then putting it aside. Then I browned the onions and added the paprika and beef afterwards. Also I used beef broth instead of water. The result was really delicious. I recommend this easy recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I agree this recipe is excellent but is not for Gulyas which is always a soup in Hungary. It is one of the best I have seen for a meat stew as Peter Tanczos noted. My hungarian husband agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is, basically, the viennese version of goulash , in Hungary this would be a pörkölt. To get a real rich, creamy sauce try to use the equal weight of onions and beef! As far as the meat concerns I personally use shank without bone (?), cut into large chunks. You can, and have to, cook it for hours (3-4), and that is what goulash is all about, it has to simmer until the onions fall apart and form this incredibly creamy dark sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dietmar Schöbitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have been making this recipe for years and have gotten a ton of raves over it. Thank you for posting it and for heavens sake make it the way it is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Wonderful! I used olive oil instead of the lard. (my Hungarian grandmas would shudder!) Other than that, I made as directed...yum! I'm making it again tonight. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These are the same ingredients my Hungarian family uses but cooks a little differently. My Mom tosses the beef in a little flour seasoned with salt, pepper and a little paprika then browns it before adding the onions. This would thicken the sauce a little as it cooked She would also sometimes add a beef bouillion cube if it was handy. I agree that tomato sauce has no place in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have made "goulash" for many years! I now add peppers and mushrooms to mine for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sossepos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was not for us at all, seriously lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Stuck to the recipe close except toward the end, instead of adding water or broth I added a cup of RED WINE. Hit the spot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States