Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Amazing recepie! I always wanted to make Humus At home and in the same time to keep it simple. Thanks to the Video, even a bigginer like me can make a delicious Humus. My boyfriend just loves it ! I will make this very often, because it is also amazingly healthy ! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ionescu Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very tasty - the right mix of tahini and lemon juice (another recipe I had tried had way too much tahini). As suggested by the author in an update, I used cumin instead of pepper and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Love it. I didn't have Lemon juice, so I put 2 tablespoons of Lime juice and a tsp of Lemon Pepper. Oh YUM!!! I never have tahini so I use the powdered peanut butter and the amazing taste ????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bunker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The trick to hummus is the order in which you add the ingredients to the food processor. You should always add equal parts lemon juice and tahini first and process it. It will whip into a thick light colored creamy paste, which is different than if you just add straight tahini to the mixture. There is no other way to get the same creamy consistency. Then add whatever else in what ever order you want, it won't make much of a difference. Canned and dried chickpeas make an inappreciable difference, and for the amount of work it takes to make dried chickpeas, just buy the can. Cumin and/or paprika are both acceptable spice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the second recipe for hummus from Allrecipes that I've tried, and I like it best. I saw the updates from the author, and used the 3 tbs of tahini, plus added some cumin. I also soaked and boiled dry garbonzos (sooo fast and easy with a digital pressure cooker), so I increased the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. From previous experience I knew two cloves of raw garlic was too strong for me, so I sliced one of them and sauteed in a little of the garlic oil. The other I left raw. I added lemon juice to taste, probably only 2 Tbs. I also added a few sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The revision is spot-on! We love this-so much better than chip dip. Only addition is we sprinkle some cayenne on top with the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only change I made was using the bagged garbanzo beans (instead of canned) and presoaked and cooked for 2 hours. I will definitely use this as a base for different variations of hummus. Super Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I tried the recipe because I had gotten addicted to the hummus at the grocery store, and this didn't taste very similar to that or as good. I usually expect homemade recipes to taste better than store-bought, so that was a big disappointment. I tried again, thinking maybe if I tried some variations from the comments, it would be better. I think cooking the chick peas first created a much smoother consistency, but it still didn't compare with store-bought hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmbarAngel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockport, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Very good recipe! Adjust to your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States