Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Humus was great! But it was too salty! I too had to throw it away...maybe a different type of salt like kosher it's ok 1 teaspoon...but not regular table salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Easy....definitely use less salt. I thought 1 tsp was too much so I cut it down to 3/4 tsp and was still way too much. I ended up using a 2nd can of garbanzo beans. And definitely use a small clove of garlic. I had a larger one and its a bit overwhelming even after the 2nd can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
It's on track, but the garlic and salt taste were really overwhelming for our family. We eat hummus nearly every day, so I decided to make our own. To adjust for our taste, we added an additional can of beans, a little more tahini and lemon juice, skipped the pepper and added a couple sprinkles of cumin instead. It's really quite good now. So in the end, cut the salt in half, skip the pepper, add some cumin and this is a 5 star recipe. We whipped it really, really smooth and topped with a little fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The consistency is amazing. I used the chick pea water about 2/3 of a cup I'd guess. I tried a little bit of the variation everyone wrote about with Cumin but I don't think I will again. I just used a bit.I love Garlic but I found the strength of the raw garlic a bit harsh for my taste, maybe just smaller cloves next time. I did forget the oil! I don't think that would make too much of a difference but maybe. It's good, just a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious. I doubled the recipe and made it with 4 lg. cloves of garlic (it was a bit garlicky) and everything else pretty much as written. Used 1 tsp. cumin and put it all into the Vitamix. It was awesome and I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks, RoyHobbs - it's a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very bland as first written. I ended up tripling everything but the garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is the first time I made hummus and it is perfect. I used 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, the juice of one lemon, half the liquid from the chickpeas and no salt. Also did not use the olive oil. Love it! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Finally...an easy, inexpensive, healthy, and delicious recipe for an evening snack! I add extra lemon to mine, which makes it taste fresh and light. Love it with tortilla or pita chips! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
HI I didn't have tahini. I used a couple tbsp of sesame oil. This recipe is a really great place to start. Flavored hummus is the rage. So go wild. add artichoke, spinach. salsa, Never tried it but I guess you could even go sweet. maybe pineapple. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States