Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
It was severly underseasoned. I used the juice and zest from an entire lemon before i was satisfied. I also added sage and paprika to make it more interesting. I would absolutely reccomend upping lemon measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I've made hummus many times, and this is very good. I made it as written except for more garlic (four cloves), less salt (about 1/2 t.) and about 1 t. of cumin instead of black pepper.. I used the reserved bean liquid as needed to get the right consistency, probably about 5 t., and added about 1 1/2t. green jalapeño sauce. That helped the consistency and added more tang than heat. I did not coat the top with oil, as this seemed like unnecessary added fat when making it for just the two of us. Maybe I'd try that if making for entertaining, but I don't see that it'd add enough to it to justify the extra calories? I think this is lighter than other hummus recipes I've made, as others use more EVOO to tweak the consistency instead of the reserved bean liquid. This was totally yummy as a dip for plain old cucumber slices, which made my blah snack a protein packed powerhouse! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The overall flavor was ok but I kept thinking something was missing and the it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This tastes wonderful. I can't wait to get creative and add roasted red peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was a very easy, with a few modifications. I used my immersion blender rather than a blender. Easier clean up, and I added a bit of pepper chopped up for more interest. Everyone loved it with fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'd recommend useing about 1/3 to 1/4 of the salt this recipe calls for... or even omit it entirely. I had to add a whole additional can of chickpeas just to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Made as above and loved it. Had to try something on my second batch, could not find my tahini so I had picked up a packet of chestnuts on a lark. Started with those and came up with a whole different dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangentTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is delicious! My local grocery chain store wanted $7.51 for 16 oz of tahini. I got the exact same jar at a little Indian market for only $4.99. I've tried several humus recipes and this is my favorite. I also prefer the cumin but I use a little in addition to the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Good base. I put in 6 tbs tahini, 1 1/2 lemons and half of the can of juice. Salt & pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUST4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I really love this recipe. The only thing I'd change is to cut back on the lemon juice. Just a personal preference. Everyone I serve it to loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States