Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
RECIPE UPDATE I'm the author of this recipe and I wanted to make a few updates. I now use cumin instead of the black pepper. You want 2 cloves of garlic overall. To adjust the texture between creamy and more solid (which is very good also) vary the amount of liquid you drain from the can. The more liquid the creamier, but lately I've been draining all of the can except for 1/2 cup. I now use 3 large tablespoons of Tahini instead of 2. I also take the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon and add it gradually as the blending occurs. Peanut Butter is no substitute for Tahini! If you're using peanut butter, you're not eating real hummus. Find it at an international food store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2985 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. I added a Tbsp of honey and used the whole lemon. I also toasted and ground whole cumin seeds for a super fresh flavour. Adjust salt to taste. I used only 1 Tbsp of olive oil for fat reduction, but I used extra virgin, so it still gave lots of flavour. Tips: 1 - some canned chick peas are slightly undercooked (crunchy) and should be boiled for 20 minutes or more before using (if you like a smooth texture). 2 - tahini goes rancid easily so buy it in a jar (not bulk) and keep it in the fridge. 3 - for easier digestion, discard the liquid in the can of chickpeas, rinse them, and use water for blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
841 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is a pretty good starting point for hummus. I'm giving it four stars instead of five because of the name of the recipe. Not to be rude or anything, but because it's misleading. Hummus is a dish that has so many regional variations. And to try and decide which region's is more authentic is a biblical and political debate that I won't touch. BUT- This is pretty good. It may be a bit salty, but for some that's the way it's supposed to be! I say this as a woman with a Turkish mom, who was married to a Greek man (I know...) and who's been to the Middle East. It's like trying to post a BBQ recipe and calling it "Real BBQ". As is, it's good enough for those that just like hummus, but if you are looking for a particular style you may have to tinker with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
800 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Really good. To make it better, use chickpeas that you've cooked at home. I use 2 cloves of garlic. By the way, this is the classic "five-point" recipe for hummus. Chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, tahini, and olive oil. Anything else is a variation thereof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
A wonderful recipe! So easy! I make this about once a week. I use 2 15oz cans of beans, therefore I use about 4 heaping tbls of tahini, juice of 2 lemons (meyer lemons are so tasty in this); otherise I followed everything else as stated(the updated version). Sometimes I take the time to peel off the skins on the garbanzo beans...it does make a creamier texture but is really not that necessary...it tastes fantastic either which way...thanks for sharing!!UPDATE: I use one can garbonzos and one can black beans (rinsed and drained). With this I use only lime juice, otherwise all the same. AWSOME!! I never ever put olive oil on top....it's too perfect to dizzle oil on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
This is the fourth hummous recipe I have tried and this is a keeper. I added more garlic and left the chickpeas slightly lumpy. GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Home-made hummus is the only way to go! I suggest adding the lemon gradually, to taste, because I used the full amount the first time and it was too lemony for me. I also added more garlic and didn't add the oil or salt since there's already so much sodium in the canned chick peas. Sometimes I add some marinated artichoke hearts to mix for some extra kick. And tahini is a must; peanut butter is no substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I'm sorry but this was a disaster, the salt was so strong that we ended up trashing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I can't believe I had been spending big bucks for hummus! This is fast, easy, inexpensive and GOOD! My whole family, including my thirteen year old, loves it. I didn't have any tahini in the house so I substituted a little peanut butter and some ground sesame seeds to get the nutty flavor. I also added black olives to rave reviews. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Sounds good but to really make it 'from scratch' make your own tahini! Bob's Red Mill brand of White Sesame Seeds has recipes for both the tahini (made from the sesame seeds) and hummus on the package. Tahini is simply toasted white sesame seeds ground in a food processor with some olive oil. His recipe uses a 16 oz. bag of white sesame seeds and 3/4 cup olive oil. Toast the seeds in a single layer on a baking sheet in a 350 oven for about 10 minutes stirring a couple of times to prevent edges from becoming too brown. Remove from oven and let them cool for at least 20 minutes. Then pour sesame seeds into a food processor, turn it on and drizzle the olive oil into the seeds, processing until creamy (about 1-2 minutes). Makes about 2 cups and can be stored in the refrigerator for about a week. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States