Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Great recipe, followed it exactly and it was so good. Ate with lamb and naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
beware of salt! I didn't add any extra. Easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
It was severly underseasoned. I used the juice and zest from an entire lemon before i was satisfied. I also added sage and paprika to make it more interesting. I would absolutely reccomend upping lemon measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I've made hummus many times, and this is very good. I made it as written except for more garlic (four cloves), less salt (about 1/2 t.) and about 1 t. of cumin instead of black pepper.. I used the reserved bean liquid as needed to get the right consistency, probably about 5 t., and added about 1 1/2t. green jalapeño sauce. That helped the consistency and added more tang than heat. I did not coat the top with oil, as this seemed like unnecessary added fat when making it for just the two of us. Maybe I'd try that if making for entertaining, but I don't see that it'd add enough to it to justify the extra calories? I think this is lighter than other hummus recipes I've made, as others use more EVOO to tweak the consistency instead of the reserved bean liquid. This was totally yummy as a dip for plain old cucumber slices, which made my blah snack a protein packed powerhouse! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The overall flavor was ok but I kept thinking something was missing and the it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This tastes wonderful. I can't wait to get creative and add roasted red peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was a very easy, with a few modifications. I used my immersion blender rather than a blender. Easier clean up, and I added a bit of pepper chopped up for more interest. Everyone loved it with fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'd recommend useing about 1/3 to 1/4 of the salt this recipe calls for... or even omit it entirely. I had to add a whole additional can of chickpeas just to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Made as above and loved it. Had to try something on my second batch, could not find my tahini so I had picked up a packet of chestnuts on a lark. Started with those and came up with a whole different dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangentTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is delicious! My local grocery chain store wanted $7.51 for 16 oz of tahini. I got the exact same jar at a little Indian market for only $4.99. I've tried several humus recipes and this is my favorite. I also prefer the cumin but I use a little in addition to the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States