Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy and very good. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great recipe. I make it at least once a month and put it in my kids' and husband's lunches along with pita chips or carrot sticks. I don't bother with the garnish unless I'm serving it at home. I find the recipe to be very forgiving and don't take the time to measure if I'm rushed. It tastes better than what I have purchased at the store and is a whole lot cheaper to make than it is to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a recipe that is per your taste. but is a starter recipe. I love 2 Tbsp. garlic and 1/2 Tbsp. cumin I will chill the hummus I may have to add more cumin. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
YUM! I've tried a few different recipes for humus and this one is a winner. I'm a garlic lover so I added a little bit more and I blended the olive oil into the humus. I also read some of the reviews before making so I cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Trumbull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Simple and delicious. Less than half the price of store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Great recipe, followed it exactly and it was so good. Ate with lamb and naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
beware of salt! I didn't add any extra. Easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
It was severly underseasoned. I used the juice and zest from an entire lemon before i was satisfied. I also added sage and paprika to make it more interesting. I would absolutely reccomend upping lemon measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I've made hummus many times, and this is very good. I made it as written except for more garlic (four cloves), less salt (about 1/2 t.) and about 1 t. of cumin instead of black pepper.. I used the reserved bean liquid as needed to get the right consistency, probably about 5 t., and added about 1 1/2t. green jalapeño sauce. That helped the consistency and added more tang than heat. I did not coat the top with oil, as this seemed like unnecessary added fat when making it for just the two of us. Maybe I'd try that if making for entertaining, but I don't see that it'd add enough to it to justify the extra calories? I think this is lighter than other hummus recipes I've made, as others use more EVOO to tweak the consistency instead of the reserved bean liquid. This was totally yummy as a dip for plain old cucumber slices, which made my blah snack a protein packed powerhouse! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The overall flavor was ok but I kept thinking something was missing and the it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States