Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Great recipe! The can of garbanzo beans is actually 15 oz., so use part of a second can. I also added 4 T. of olive oil right into the food processer and about 1/3 of the liquid in the can of beans. Came out very creamy and tasty. I always sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Excellent recipe. Only change I made was to stir in the olive oil at the end and to lightly dust with ground paprika instead of the black pepper - looks very pretty. Next time I will crush the garlic with a press or a pestle & mortar before adding to the processor, as it was a little too chunky for my family's preferences. Looking forward to experimenting with flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is MY recipe ;) except that I use 4 cloves of garlic in the dried garbanzos I cook. I sometimes find that the canned ones have a tinny taste. Just me, maybe, but in a slow cooker they cook just fine during the day. The updated recipe by this author is how I learned it from some Israeli friends of mine, with the cumin and some raw garlic added once you start blending. I also grate the lemon before juicing it and adding the 2 T of juice from it. 1 T of salt added to the cooking garbanzos means that the cooking liquid will be salty. So as I add cooking liquid during the blending I can add plain hot water if I feel it's getting too salty. I was looking for a recipe close to what I remembered being taught and this was it. Thanks, Mr. Hobbs. You were closest to the mark! The olive oil is used ONLY as a garnish and not as a way to change the consistency. Just a note ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I had hummus for the first time at the home on an Indian family who'd recently come to the US. I loved it. This is the closest recipe I've found. They used home made tahini but the lady told me that sometimes she couldn't find tahini or sesame seeds, so she used a few drops of sesame oil. Be careful though, the oil is strong and it's easy to over do it. I've used it instead of paying the insane price for tahini. I definitely like the cumin in place of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written only subbing 410g boiled and drained, unsalted chickpeas for the canned variety. I believe the amount of lemon is off, personally. I think that 2 Tbsp of lemon is sufficient. So, as others have suggested, add the lemon gradually. Otherwise, the amounts seem right on. Thank you RoyHobbs for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very good. I had. 15 oz can of the garbanzo beans so cut back just a little bit on rest of the ingredients. I did go with just 3 tablespoons of the lemon juice because I didn't want it to be too lemony. Otherwise it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I love this recipe! Only changes I made were to make my own tahini with the recipe from this site, use 3T of tahini, and roast garlic / red pepper in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I prefer 6 cloves of Garlic VS. Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Micka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Pour off all of the liquid from the garbanzo beans in order to keep a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We loved it! Per other suggestions I added 1/2 tsp salt, otherwise I followed directly taking tips from the authors comments too. I like mine on the thinner side, so I used more of the liquid. I like the lemon so I used the full amount too. Thanks! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States