Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
So convenient to make anytime, rather then having to buy the pre-made at the store. All the ingredients are usually staples that I have all the time. I add parsley and hot peppers. Today, I added sun-dried tomatoes too. Also, a great snack to make real quick to go along with crackers for an outing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Wonderful recipe. If you first peel the skin off each bean you will have a much smoother texture. I also like to roast the garlic (doubled). YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Soooo excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Great recipe, easy and delicious. I made it nearly exactly as the updated version suggested, with more tahini and less salt, and with cumin, although I did add a dash of pepper too, because I love pepper. I think using good garbanzo beans makes a big difference--I like the kind that comes in cartons instead of cans. Thank you to the recipe author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Authentic or real hummus is made with dry chick peas that you soak. Just soak overnight. Out of a can is not the best tasting. Otherwise the recipe is good. I'm middle eastern and there are many variations. You have to tinker with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Great recipe! The can of garbanzo beans is actually 15 oz., so use part of a second can. I also added 4 T. of olive oil right into the food processer and about 1/3 of the liquid in the can of beans. Came out very creamy and tasty. I always sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Excellent recipe. Only change I made was to stir in the olive oil at the end and to lightly dust with ground paprika instead of the black pepper - looks very pretty. Next time I will crush the garlic with a press or a pestle & mortar before adding to the processor, as it was a little too chunky for my family's preferences. Looking forward to experimenting with flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is MY recipe ;) except that I use 4 cloves of garlic in the dried garbanzos I cook. I sometimes find that the canned ones have a tinny taste. Just me, maybe, but in a slow cooker they cook just fine during the day. The updated recipe by this author is how I learned it from some Israeli friends of mine, with the cumin and some raw garlic added once you start blending. I also grate the lemon before juicing it and adding the 2 T of juice from it. 1 T of salt added to the cooking garbanzos means that the cooking liquid will be salty. So as I add cooking liquid during the blending I can add plain hot water if I feel it's getting too salty. I was looking for a recipe close to what I remembered being taught and this was it. Thanks, Mr. Hobbs. You were closest to the mark! The olive oil is used ONLY as a garnish and not as a way to change the consistency. Just a note ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I had hummus for the first time at the home on an Indian family who'd recently come to the US. I loved it. This is the closest recipe I've found. They used home made tahini but the lady told me that sometimes she couldn't find tahini or sesame seeds, so she used a few drops of sesame oil. Be careful though, the oil is strong and it's easy to over do it. I've used it instead of paying the insane price for tahini. I definitely like the cumin in place of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written only subbing 410g boiled and drained, unsalted chickpeas for the canned variety. I believe the amount of lemon is off, personally. I think that 2 Tbsp of lemon is sufficient. So, as others have suggested, add the lemon gradually. Otherwise, the amounts seem right on. Thank you RoyHobbs for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States