Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written only subbing 410g boiled and drained, unsalted chickpeas for the canned variety. I believe the amount of lemon is off, personally. I think that 2 Tbsp of lemon is sufficient. So, as others have suggested, add the lemon gradually. Otherwise, the amounts seem right on. Thank you RoyHobbs for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very good. I had. 15 oz can of the garbanzo beans so cut back just a little bit on rest of the ingredients. I did go with just 3 tablespoons of the lemon juice because I didn't want it to be too lemony. Otherwise it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I love this recipe! Only changes I made were to make my own tahini with the recipe from this site, use 3T of tahini, and roast garlic / red pepper in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Just wondering what to do with the second clove of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
OMIT that SALT overload ! I prefer 6 cloves of Garlic VS. Salt. Garlic is excellent for your Health. Salt , very ,very bad. Try it with Chili powder , better yet, blend the olive oil with the puree, and add a good helping of Sun Dried Tomato's .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Micka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Pour off ALL of the liquid from the garbanzo beans in order to keep a thicker consistency and this gets at least four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We loved it! Per other suggestions I added 1/2 tsp salt, otherwise I followed directly taking tips from the authors comments too. I like mine on the thinner side, so I used more of the liquid. I like the lemon so I used the full amount too. Thanks! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I really REALLY love this recipe! Every time I make hummus I always come back to use this recipe. Besides the author's alterations, the only thing I change about the recipe is I always add double the lemon. But I am a citrusy person :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have not made this yet, but i have a question about the tahini for Roy Hobbs and I don't know how you can ask a question of the recipe submitter except to review it: Is the tahini you call for in this recipe tahini that you make yourself, or that you buy already made? I have seen recipes to make tahini, and in my local store they sell "tahine paste". SO I am wondering if there is a big taste difference between making your own and buying a jar of 'paste'. email me at sheiladeee at yahoo dot com, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States