Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Living in New Mexico it's easy to go just about anywhere and find some Tamales. The only suggestion I have is for the MASA, instead of using water to make it use the broth from the meat you cook. It wall add more flavor to it. And out here we just use HATCH red or green chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiny72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe turned out great! My tamales were moist & flavorful. Some reviewers said they tasted bland, I guess I always add extra seasoning for my own taste (garlic, onion powder) because I didn't have that problem. I will say that the amount of masa did not make nearly enough for the amount of pork filling I made. I had to do a double batch of masa & still had enough pork filling for enchiladas or tacos! Also, I used pasilla peppers & it was a rich deep color similar to mole. I pureed some garlic cloves I added to the boiled peppers for added depth of flavor. The pepper puree made an excellent accompaniment to cheese quesadillas the next night & would be a great marinade for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskatie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These turned out fantastic for my first time. So glad that I tripled the batch and had enough to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
this is a really great recipe even my grandchildren loved them it was my first time making these boy am I slow not as easy as it looks but the meat OMG was totally awesome my hubby kept coming and grabbing it everytime I turned around I made the chili sauce to keep for use on everything great flavor and you can make it really hot or mild I like the hot hubby likes mild I will make these again now that I have the hang of it great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
A bit bland for my taste. Reserve enough vegtable broth for masa dough with bullion added. Put the rest of the veg broth thru a blender. Season to taste, (I added chili powder and horse radish, etc). Run the meat (in my case. left-over bbq pork shoulder minus fat) thru a neat grinder. Combine meat and broth and simmer to reduce and combine. COOL over night!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Tamales in my opinion are a little hard to make. I got quite an arm workout making these but the taste was AMAZING! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Instead of using pork I used chicken. I boiled the chicken in water that was seasoned with saffron, and homemade adobo seasoning. I also seasoned the masa with the adobo seasoning and used the water the chicken was boiled in instead of canned. I boiled the chiles and I used two different kinds I added some cumin and adobo seasoning to the mole. This was the first time I have ever made tamales and they smell wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
i made this recipe! my husband and friends at work want me to make it again it is awesome!!! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These turned out great! I was a little anxious, but the Mexicans that work with my boyfriend said they were spot on. Like many of the others, I added ancho chili powder, chipotle chili powder, and cumin. It still was not quite spicy enough for my taste, so I will probably use spicier peppers the next time. I cooked a pork tenderloin overnight in a crock pot on low heat, which turned out to be perfect. I bought a tamale steamer and they were done after about an hour and 15 minutes. My only complaint is that I don't care for using lard. I will probably substitute it the next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States