Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
this is a really great recipe even my grandchildren loved them it was my first time making these boy am I slow not as easy as it looks but the meat OMG was totally awesome my hubby kept coming and grabbing it everytime I turned around I made the chili sauce to keep for use on everything great flavor and you can make it really hot or mild I like the hot hubby likes mild I will make these again now that I have the hang of it great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
A bit bland for my taste. Reserve enough vegtable broth for masa dough with bullion added. Put the rest of the veg broth thru a blender. Season to taste, (I added chili powder and horse radish, etc). Run the meat (in my case. left-over bbq pork shoulder minus fat) thru a neat grinder. Combine meat and broth and simmer to reduce and combine. COOL over night!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Tamales in my opinion are a little hard to make. I got quite an arm workout making these but the taste was AMAZING! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Instead of using pork I used chicken. I boiled the chicken in water that was seasoned with saffron, and homemade adobo seasoning. I also seasoned the masa with the adobo seasoning and used the water the chicken was boiled in instead of canned. I boiled the chiles and I used two different kinds I added some cumin and adobo seasoning to the mole. This was the first time I have ever made tamales and they smell wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
i made this recipe! my husband and friends at work want me to make it again it is awesome!!! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These turned out great! I was a little anxious, but the Mexicans that work with my boyfriend said they were spot on. Like many of the others, I added ancho chili powder, chipotle chili powder, and cumin. It still was not quite spicy enough for my taste, so I will probably use spicier peppers the next time. I cooked a pork tenderloin overnight in a crock pot on low heat, which turned out to be perfect. I bought a tamale steamer and they were done after about an hour and 15 minutes. My only complaint is that I don't care for using lard. I will probably substitute it the next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Perfect tamale mixture! I tripled the recipes and used this tamale spread for all kinds of tamales, from sweet potato & chorizo to traditional chilchen & green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I am so sorry to give this a bad review, I adore tamales and have been looking for a recipe for years but this was extremely confusing and had huge gaps in the process. Did she mean a pressure cooker at the end? What happened to the onion? Why are we using separate broth? It's over my "cooking" head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made these for Christmas and they were PERFECT!!! My first time ever making tamales and they were so yummy. Only thing I changed was that I used beef instead of pork. I also used a slow cooker for the meat. They were delicious and even my SUPER picky big brother loved them and took some home with him. One time saving tip: If your neighborhood has a hispanic grocery market, see if they have prepared Masa for tamales. That way you don't have to prepare the dough yourself. It's ready to go. Thank you sooo so very much for this recipe. I've saved it and will use it MANY times in the future. It's fool proof :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States