Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Im only giving this 4 stars because I had to make a lot of changes. As written it is very bland and heavy. The first batch I made the masa turned out very plain and heavy too. I made another batch the next day and I made many changes based on others input. I cooked pork shoulder with an onion and a whole head of garlic, separated. I used the pork broth to mix with the masa. To the chili sauce I added an onion and 6 cloves of garlic and some chili powder and cumin and lots of salt, blended it all up and mixed half with the meat and half with the masa. I also added sliced pickled jalapenos to the meat mix. I also like to add 1 black olive and a thin slice of potato to each tamale after I put the meat filling on the masa. My 2nd batch turned out so well. I also made some with a strip of green chile and cheese, they were yummy too. Im so glad I finally decided to make some tamales on my own. I cant wait to experiment with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Made this today, was great! One tip we found was to use a small piece of plastic wrap to smooth out the masa onto the corn husk. Worked awesome!!! :) Also, no need to tie, just fold into thirds. Put the masa down from the bottom about 2/3 up the husk, smooth out with plastic wrap, put a small line of filling down the middle, fold one side over filling, then fold over other side. Masa will overlap but it's no problem. Then fold top down. Easy Peasy! :) Thanks for a great recipe!! Oh yeah, put the folded side down near the water, and the open end towards the top, worked like a charm! :) Thanks everybody else for sharing tips!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I like this recipe very much. In answer to Pat's question, I use parchment paper instead of corn husks and just fold them up. I've done it both ways and actually prefer the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Fabulous, and easy to follow. It is definitely labor intensive, but several dozen tamales later, my freezer is stocked and a good dinner was had by all. The only suggestion would be to check the water you do the chiles in, and if it's bitter (mine was) use fresh water for blending the dried chiles. I also followed a readers suggestion and used a pork butt instead of a loin, much more tender and flavorful. Thanks for taking the time to post this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The good: despite a few substitutions this recipe held up (fresh serrano and jalapeno peppers instead of dried, chicken instead of pork, shortening instead of lard, and the addition of cumin). The bad: Don't listen to the reviewer who said coffee filters work as wrappers. I did (thinking that I could get rid of a huge coffee filter surplus) and suffered for it. Using coffee filters is a TERRIBLE idea!! Here are the problems that I had: 1. The filters are not as waterproof as corn husks, so when you steam the tamales the fat in them will liquefy and leak out. When the water in my steamer cooled there was 1/2 inch of fat on top of the water for a double batch of tamales. This also means that the surface of the tamales will feel greasy and grease will get all over your steamer. 2. The coffee filters bond to the masa so when you want to eat them you end up peeling off the outer layer of masa. If you try to avoid this by removing the wrapping while tamales are cold it is impossible to remove without leaving paper on the tamale. 3. Because the coffee filters bond to the masa the normal test of doneness (seeing if the masa is still sticking) is useless. This means that you need to take a tamale out and actually eat it to figure out if it is done or not. Despite the fact that my tamales are probably now low fat they are still pretty tasty. They were better after sitting overnight because the flavors melded together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These were amazing, I followed the recipe exactly and added cheese sauce with the other mole. I will make this again as this was a learning process and I made a huge mess and will know better next time. My picky family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Dunlap Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Wow! It came out better than I expected! It needed to be steamed much longer than 1 hr. When I checked it after an hour, the dough was not as soft as I would like, so I steamed it longer. I think I steamed it for another 2-3 hrs. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
When making tamales, the corn husks need to be in HOT WATER! And you need to use the SMOOTH side of the husks. Prevents dough sticking to husks when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Outstanding please double recipe if you want to freeze some. Anyone attending your SUPERBOWL party will talk about these and, good luck trying to make them leave. I did add 4 Jalepenos for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I did make a few changes as well. I added 3 T cumin to the meat, used the broth from the meat in the masa and used a large can (27 oz) of Hatch chilies instead of the dried chili pods. I lived for thirty years close to the Mexican border and these were every bit as good. Thanks for the great recipe. We doubled it and it made 42 generous tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States