Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by AliciaVR6
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
WOW - I had always thought tamales were hard to make and it hadn't even crossed my mind to attempt it til I saw this recipe and from start to finish, only took an hour and a half (including cooking time), because we didn't cook any meat. I used vegetable shortening, vegetable broth and as the filling, black beans with el pato sauce, cumin, garlic salt & onion powder simmered on the stove for 5 mins, as well as a julienne slice of monterey jack. I also mixed a few tablespoons of the el pato into the dough for flavor, which didn't change the color much. As expected without meat, they were a TAD on the dry side but still great, especially with some el pato sauce on the side. I did need to use about 1/4 c. more broth than the recipe called for. I steamed these in a pot with rack for 1 hour and they were definitely done after that hour, but only did 12 or so at a time. They kept their shape when unrolled, and looked great! This made about 24 tamales for me. OH one more thing, don't even bother using a spoon to spread the dough on the husk, it's MUCH easier just using your fingers to press it down, the dough has lots of fat so it doesn't stick to your hands. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
this recipe, while rather labor intensive, turns out perfectly every time. the only thing i change is to add more chiles to make it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Pretty good. I added a ton of spices to the meat to make sure they were not bland (cayenne, cumin, garlic salt, chili powder, oregano). Meat came out great. Masa was bland even though I added the meat broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebayqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My husband made these and had a few problems following the directions. Mixing up the masa dough he was not sure how much of the broth to use and they turned out very dry, had good flavor with the meat tho. He was wanting to throw it all out but we saved the tamales and today I placed the wrapped tamales in a baking dish and added beef broth and heated them up in the oven, they soaked up all the broth and tasted great! Next time we'll understand better about using more of the broth so it's like a soft cookie dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe but I suggest steaming for three hours. The masa should pull away from the hojas(corn husks) when done. I wrap each folded tamale in a large sheet of "sandwich paper" (Smart & Final), similar to parchment but thinner and it keeps the hojas (corn husks) from opening as you stack them in the steamer. I make 50 at a time so it's better if you have a helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Good, but why add beef broth? You've got an oniony, porky pan full of broth! Especially nice if you perk up the braising liquid with a carrot, celery and spices like a few peppercorns, cumin seeds and a couple cloves; much better balanced flavor. Also love Reyna's suggestion to use the the chile sauce in the dough: So that's how my childhood neighbors made their fabulous dough! Brilliant and so sensible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I cannot believe that this is the first time I've made tamales, and they're the BEST I've ever had in my entire life! And that's saying a lot, since I grew up in the Southwest with a Hispanic father, and always had the opportunity to buy authentic tamales from the ladies that go door-to-door. I've always been yearning for that perfect tamale, though--most times, I had ones that were too bland, too dry, too salty, too spicy, etc. But the masa dough in this recipe is the secret to a tasty tamale. I did take a major shortcut with the meat--I used a 5-lb roast, sprinkled it with salt, chile powder, cayenne, garlic powder, cumin seeds, and crushed red pepper, put it in the slow cooker with chicken broth and crushed garlic cloves, and cooked it on low, overnight til the meat shredded easily. I then adjusted the spicyness. I also added the broth from the meat to the masa dough, and added some of the aforementioned spices for more flavor and color. I had to double the recipe for dough since I cooked extra meat, and I still have meat left over to make tacos or burritos later. I am so glad I can make tamales that really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Instead of drizzling the left-over sauce over the tamales, I mixed some into the dough(just enough to tint the masa red). I mixed it in real well and then prepared the tamales into the corn husks as directed. It gave the masa a good hint of flavor. It is good to double or triple this recipie and serve these for a party, pot luck, or freeze them for up to 6 months. They are a labor of love so if you make them, make a lot. I thought it would save time to buy the masa prepared but that was a big mistake the first time, never again. This recipie for the masa was great. I did have a lot of the filling left over but I just used the left over meat mixture throughout the week for tacos, quesadillas, and enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this recipe and it was my first time making tamales - EVER. I did it by myself and they came out totally awesome!! I want to thank everyone for adding their tips as they helped so much. I doubled the recipe and it made 25 good-sized tamales and they went quickly. The best suggestions were about 1)adding oregano and cumin to the broth that the meat cooked in 2)adding cumin to the masa dough 3) adding the red sauce to the masa dough 4) adding more salt to the meat, sauce, and dough 5) whipping the lard 5 minutes until light and fluffy before adding broth and masa mixture 6) using only room temp or cold ingredients so the lard does not melt. I also added a small can of chipotle peppers to the red sauce when I blended it. The sauce tasted strong but after steaming, the tamales mellowed and boy were they good! That strong chipotle taste cooks out. My suggestion for anyone wanting to make these is to research all tips first, and double or triple the recipe. Thank you!! I will be making these for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Alright... of course I tweaked this a little bit. I made it with chicken breasts. I had 3 huge chicken breasts so I had enough for another batch today. So last night I made them pretty much like the recipe said. I only added a little lime juice to the masa. We liked them, but thought they could be better. So today, we added some cumin and 1/2 a can of red and 1/2 a can of green enchiladas sauce. And to the masa I added a little garlic salt. They were perfect! My husband ate about 10 of them and each of my (EXTREMELY) picky kids ate 3 each! I served them w/ Mexican Rice II. WE will be making these often. Now my mom wants me to teach her how to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States