Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Thanks, these came out perfect! It was the first time I made tamales and we loved them. For my filling I used leftover ropa vieja and they tasted great. Definitely will make these with the pork filling sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Yes, well worth the effort... I did like many others and added cumin, chili powder to the sauce also used the broth from cooked meat for the sauce and the dough...Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Do try this recipe!!! My experience with this recipe was excellent. However, I did wavier the pork loin only because I had some leftover brisket I was needing to use. I chopped up the brisket and heated it up with enchilada sauce just to moisten, not loaded with sauce. Which worked out perfectly all the way around. But do try it with the pork loin. My suggestions to this recipe is that, the "chili" part was a little off. It really tasted like a spiced water with salt. If that makes since. I had to call my hispanic friend who is a whiz making tamales and ask her what was wrong with that part. She told me how I could easily spice up the sauce, with cumin, chili powder, extra water and little bit of enchilada sauce and proceed to cook longer for flavor. I can't tell you the extract measurements because it was a through in. And I hugged her through the phone it was excellent addition to the tamales. The tamales themselves, needed just a bit more broth then required because it was rather pasty as I was working with it. Do keep an extra can of broth on hand just to add a little at a time for a smooth texture when it starts to dry out. And the hardest part was just getting the tieing part down for the tamales. However, totally well worth the time. It is time consuming but however, the finished result was nothing more then awesome. I will be making this again. Because my family felt like they died and gone to heaven, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Good basic recipe, however it leaves out one crucial ingredient. Cumin. Cumin is almost as important to the flavor as the chiles are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gawain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good, but I made some changes. I used Crisco instead of Lard and for the Masa dough, I added 1 teaspoon of Chili Powder and 1 teaspoon of Cumin powder. Really made it 'zing'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I just want to say thanks for taking the time to post this, because I really REALLY liked these! I've only had tamales once before (restaurant), and I wondered why I'd waited so long! So, I made a small batch at home with this recipe, but I have to admit- I modified it a bit! Like many, I'm sure! I added 1 T cumin to the batter, and I shredded the meat from some bbq spare ribs that were tender, juicy and lots of spices and flavor. I used that for the filling, and they turned out pretty well for my first time. I think what I've learned is that the maza has to be sloppy wet when you put it into the husks-- I didn't get the batter that wet, and I should have. Next time... and next time I'll experiment with some other fillings. I'd love to hear if anyone else has stuffed these with fillings that wowed their family and friends... I'd love to share the recipe with you, and I'll post it on my blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I thought this was very easy to make and fun. Im going to have to try this again because my nose was stuffed so I dont think i got the full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Mrs Gail
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These were the first tamales I ever made! They turned out very nice and very mild spice wise. My family reallyenjoyed them even the 3 year old. You will need extra help for this batch, it was work! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Gail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I just made tamales!! I messed around with the filling a bit and boiled the pork in water and chile powder as Rick Bayless suggests. But the rest of the recipe I followed exactly and they were awesome! Very tender, well cooked. I was worried about the "unwrapping", but they held together beautifully. Made me feel like I'd really done something! Thanks for hanging out in the grocery store and asking all the questions for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I think is super! I made some changes based on what I had at home. I made bbq pulled pork a couple days ago and used the leftovers also added chiptole powder and used can of green chilies and a can of diced toms (other tamales I've made had roasted tomatoes). Also I used chicken broth instead of beef. Added a little mexican oregano and thyme. The filing was a a little dry so I added more broth. From what I ve been told before it should resemeble a little thincker than cake batter. Also was out of corn husks and HATE rolling them. Found a super great tip....I used COFFEE FILTERS. Asthetically not authentic, but super easya dn still tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States