Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We got a spackle spreader from the hardware store, a nice metal one and use that for spreading the mesa. We double the chili pods and water, to the final sauce we add a teaspoon or more of high quality chocolate to deepen the flavors and mellow out the hotness if needed. I made several hundred for a benefit. I buy a big pork shoulder, boil it up, shred it and mix it with some sauce and toss extra into the freezer so I can make the mesa, defrost the extras and have tamales in no time at all. This IS the recipe to beat, we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I have never made tamales before but was interested in trying. This is a time-consuming process for sure! The best way to do this is make the meat a day in advance. Work to perfect the masa by watching YouTube and reading other recipes. This recipe's masa was way too dry and I had a hard time figuring out how to get a little pinch of it to float in water--as some YouTube pros suggested--to test for the right consistency. The videos about masa show it being about the consistency of Cream of Wheat. With some insistence from my husband that we keep trying, we worked at it and finally came up with some masa that didn't sink as heavily as the first batch. We cooked the tamales in our pressure cooker for about 45 minutes. Then let them sit in the closed pressure cooker while we went for a walk. They really need some time to cook, apparently. This combination of cooking and letting them sit ended up being perfect. These tamales were really divine. Just as good as the ones a Mexican family used to sell door to door when I lived in Utah. Try it. But definitely be prepared for a lengthy process. Invite friends over. Play some mariachi music. Drink some Mexican beer. Worth it. But definitely an experience you want to share with others willing to get their hands dirty. The community aspect of the recipe is part of the magic of tamales. Try it--but know what you're in for. I do think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I remember helping my mom make tamales as a child anc couldn't exactly remember the dough recipe! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made these last night, turned out excellent. Some pointers that might help if you haven't made before is to look at the most helpful reviews and also go into "You Tube", and then put in 'making tamales'. That video with the dressed up skeltons in the background by Jose Chavez was so helpful on how to wrap and place in the pot as well as how to check for doneness. Also this recipe seemed complicated to me, and after I watched the video on You Tube on how to prepare the meat, it helped so much. The video was so good and 'easy'. If you need pointers..watch the video on You tube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I just made tamales for the first time a few days ago with this recipe. They were delicious. I doubled the recipe and used rendered fat instead of lard and used 1/2 C of it instead of 2/3C called for. I used 2 cups warm chicken broth intstead of the 10.5 oz can. Half of the masa made cheese and jalapeno tamales and the other half chicken. The BP makes the dough light and fluffier. Be sure to not pack the rolled tamales too tight in the steaming pot so they have room to expand. I had two pots steaming and the one that was tightly packed turned out a little chewy but the cheese ones that were loosely packed before steamed were devine! Each recipe yeilded only 12 but I made each tamale pretty fat. Worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first time making Tamales and my husband said they were some of the best he has eaten! Him being from South Texas I had a lot to live up to. It was really simple actually. Living in DC we have a few supermercados where it was easy to find husks and MESECA brand masa. I did use a 14oz can of broth to make it more moist and had to steam them for 90 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I applaud this recipe but boy is it way off. Look, never, ever use Maseca for anythig. Get tortilla masa from your local Mexican bodega or market. Also, the mixing is crucial. Use baking powder and baking soda. For the meat, a flank steak is best since it shreds easier. The key is the sauce. And that's my maternal grandmother's recipe from Cuernavaca, Morelos. And you can't have it. One tip: unless you have vegetarian guests, use Lard. And not that trans stuff like REX. Go to a good butcher and get the natural stuff. It might look gross but the taste is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The sour cream should probably not be in the item list under tamale dough. It makes it look like the sour cream goes into the dough. It does not. I made that mistake. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I'm giving this four stars because as written, I think the masa would be really dry. I followed many other suggestions and used more cooking liquid from the meat to keep the masa the right temp. I steamed mine for about 2.5 hours. I also added chili powder and cumin to chile sause, and chili powder to masa dough. These tamales were good but needed more spice for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaboots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I have heard for years how hard tamales are to make so I have never tried. I made this recipe last week and they were amazing. Very time consuming but very easy to make and put together. I added my own spices to the meat and the masa but other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States