Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Made these today. Loved the filling. I had only dried chipotle peppers and they added a nice spice. I must have made the masa too thick on the jusk becaue I had to make another batch. I used chicken broth in that batch and preferred it to the beef. I think you could probably use the cooking broth from the pork and it would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Turned out great but a lot of work. Also the spice is really mellowed so don't be to worried. Used medium salsa and it was like it wasn't even mild. MArie did not buy the stuff for the spice but bought salsa instead. Get help to make and something to tie the tamales before steaming or they will open up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I'm a gringo...I made these and they were great. I bought ready made maza instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We got a spackle spreader from the hardware store, a nice metal one and use that for spreading the mesa. We double the chili pods and water, to the final sauce we add a teaspoon or more of high quality chocolate to deepen the flavors and mellow out the hotness if needed. I made several hundred for a benefit. I buy a big pork shoulder, boil it up, shred it and mix it with some sauce and toss extra into the freezer so I can make the mesa, defrost the extras and have tamales in no time at all. This IS the recipe to beat, we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I have never made tamales before but was interested in trying. This is a time-consuming process for sure! The best way to do this is make the meat a day in advance. Work to perfect the masa by watching YouTube and reading other recipes. This recipe's masa was way too dry and I had a hard time figuring out how to get a little pinch of it to float in water--as some YouTube pros suggested--to test for the right consistency. The videos about masa show it being about the consistency of Cream of Wheat. With some insistence from my husband that we keep trying, we worked at it and finally came up with some masa that didn't sink as heavily as the first batch. We cooked the tamales in our pressure cooker for about 45 minutes. Then let them sit in the closed pressure cooker while we went for a walk. They really need some time to cook, apparently. This combination of cooking and letting them sit ended up being perfect. These tamales were really divine. Just as good as the ones a Mexican family used to sell door to door when I lived in Utah. Try it. But definitely be prepared for a lengthy process. Invite friends over. Play some mariachi music. Drink some Mexican beer. Worth it. But definitely an experience you want to share with others willing to get their hands dirty. The community aspect of the recipe is part of the magic of tamales. Try it--but know what you're in for. I do think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I remember helping my mom make tamales as a child anc couldn't exactly remember the dough recipe! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made these last night, turned out excellent. Some pointers that might help if you haven't made before is to look at the most helpful reviews and also go into "You Tube", and then put in 'making tamales'. That video with the dressed up skeltons in the background by Jose Chavez was so helpful on how to wrap and place in the pot as well as how to check for doneness. Also this recipe seemed complicated to me, and after I watched the video on You Tube on how to prepare the meat, it helped so much. The video was so good and 'easy'. If you need pointers..watch the video on You tube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I just made tamales for the first time a few days ago with this recipe. They were delicious. I doubled the recipe and used rendered fat instead of lard and used 1/2 C of it instead of 2/3C called for. I used 2 cups warm chicken broth intstead of the 10.5 oz can. Half of the masa made cheese and jalapeno tamales and the other half chicken. The BP makes the dough light and fluffier. Be sure to not pack the rolled tamales too tight in the steaming pot so they have room to expand. I had two pots steaming and the one that was tightly packed turned out a little chewy but the cheese ones that were loosely packed before steamed were devine! Each recipe yeilded only 12 but I made each tamale pretty fat. Worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Castro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first time making Tamales and my husband said they were some of the best he has eaten! Him being from South Texas I had a lot to live up to. It was really simple actually. Living in DC we have a few supermercados where it was easy to find husks and MESECA brand masa. I did use a 14oz can of broth to make it more moist and had to steam them for 90 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I applaud this recipe but boy is it way off. Look, never, ever use Maseca for anythig. Get tortilla masa from your local Mexican bodega or market. Also, the mixing is crucial. Use baking powder and baking soda. For the meat, a flank steak is best since it shreds easier. The key is the sauce. And that's my maternal grandmother's recipe from Cuernavaca, Morelos. And you can't have it. One tip: unless you have vegetarian guests, use Lard. And not that trans stuff like REX. Go to a good butcher and get the natural stuff. It might look gross but the taste is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States