Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was incredible! It is very time consuming however, so don't plan to whip it together an hour before dinner. Read the other reviews to get ideas and then add your own touches for a simply incredible experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Just like I remembered!!! Just dont add the lard if your broth is hot..Messes the constancy something awful until it cools. We added olives :) Will use again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I've learned to use pork shoulder and put it in a crockpot at bedtime so in the morning it's easy to shredd the meat and go. No waiting for the meat to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have a question. Corn husks are not available where I live. Is there something else I could use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I just had to comment on this one because I am mexican and have been making (helping make) tamales since I was about 5 yrs old. You'd be surprised how much a 5 yr old kid can do! We never used gloves to clean the chiles, just because it is so much faster when you don't. Of course, you are taking a huge risk with your eyes, but we all do it that way even still. We always boil onions and other spices with the chiles while they cook and add the onions to the blender too. We use the leftover meat liquid for the masa and we add a little baking powder and salt. We also add chile sauce to the masa! Big improvment on flavor if you do. Our test for if the tamales were done has always been to remove one (a bigger one, since they are less likely to be done) and try to pull the husk off. If it comes off clean, they're done. And sour cream? That's...different. I'm not sure what it does. We've made beef, pork, chicken, chicken and cheese, chile and cheese and sweet tamales in my lifetime. For the sweet tamales, we mix raisins in the masa and the filling is a cream cheese mixture. Pretty yummy! :) As for this recipe, I haven't done it, but i rated it anyway because it is PRETTY close to how we do it...and they would come out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I haven't made this recipe, but I know how to make Mexican tamales. So here are two things I want to share. A lot of people will reserve some of the stock inwhich the meat was cooked in, and use it as the liquid for forming the dough, because it adds a great flavor. However, you might want to spice up the broth a little bit more than with just onion and garlic. The other tip, is that longer you knead the tamale dough, the better it will be when it's fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was a great starter recipe, but I also needed some guidance from another website that had step by step instructions with pictures. One thing I'm learning: you almost have to "overseason" the meat and cooking liquid, because masa has absolutely no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICECHICKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Made for crowd of 90 and were a bit dry, had to add salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made these with beef instead of pork. They are GREAT!!! The leftovers freeze well and they reheat easily in the microwave. I always keep some in the freezer now for a quick, delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Made these today. Loved the filling. I had only dried chipotle peppers and they added a nice spice. I must have made the masa too thick on the jusk becaue I had to make another batch. I used chicken broth in that batch and preferred it to the beef. I think you could probably use the cooking broth from the pork and it would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States