Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
When making tamales, the corn husks need to be in HOT WATER! And you need to use the SMOOTH side of the husks. Prevents dough sticking to husks when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Outstanding please double recipe if you want to freeze some. Anyone attending your SUPERBOWL party will talk about these and, good luck trying to make them leave. I did add 4 Jalepenos for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I did make a few changes as well. I added 3 T cumin to the meat, used the broth from the meat in the masa and used a large can (27 oz) of Hatch chilies instead of the dried chili pods. I lived for thirty years close to the Mexican border and these were every bit as good. Thanks for the great recipe. We doubled it and it made 42 generous tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My recipe is similar with these added flavor boosters: I use the broth from cooking the meat instead of beef bouillon. I also use a pork shoulder which renders more natural "lard" to use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is exactly like the one I received from my neighbor who worked in a Mexican resteraunt in Colorado for most of her adult life. We also used shredded beef in place of pork, but I think the pork is better. We did not use the sour creme as a topping but I will try it next time! These froze really well too if any one is interested in making large batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The key was reading the notes and following the suggestions... following the experience of the "experts" I found I could make delicious tamales the FIRST time!!! I just need to practice the wrapping technique ;-) Thanks to everyone who helped make this recipe super special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
not for the novice mexican chef, but oh so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at tamales, and I think it was very successful. I doubled the recipe and I think I had 36 small tamales. Next time I would triple it because I kept worrying about running out. I added two medium potatoes to the mix because my family does, and I would definitely add them next time. I was sort of bummed to waste all that pork broth, next time I would probably just use it in place of the beef broth. I added a tomato to the boiled chiles, and pan fried three of the chiles with probably 4 chiles japones. Next time I would probably add more tomato to my mix just because I thought the tamales needed a brighter flavor. Definitely steam the tamales in an upright position with the open side up. Mine were small and took about 1 hr 20 mins. I topped the tamales with some sour cream I mixed with some chile sauce, and some homemade red salsa and those fresh flavors brought the tamales to life. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It was good and easy. enjoyed the turn out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valdez2557
Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made tamales for the first time and they had a good flavor (I used pork in place of beef) but the masa dough was a bit crumbly. I wish that it gave a bit more information on how much liquid should be going into the dough. I think that was the reason for the crumbling. Tons of time for something that didnt turn out so well. Bummed but will try again with some help from YOUtube
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States