Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Yummy! My family loves these.Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
OK, this was my first time making tamales ever. I personally love peruvian style tamales (the masa is reddish brown, and they serve it with sliced onions in a light lemon vinegar sauce) but these turned out better than I had expected. I used CHICKEN, and I made my masa very peanut buttery like - it really does dry out. I also added an olive or two for each tamale...the oil & flavor naturally comes out while you steam it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I worked so hard to make these and they were SOOOO bland. Even with putting salsa, guac, sour cream, etc on them, we couldn't eat them cuz they were just too bland. I give it 2 stars just because the instructions were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a good recipe...you just need to add your own touches. For the masa..you can go to your Hispanic Mkt and buy the Masa (dough) already prepared . All you have to do is add salt to taste,some chicken broth to make it plyible.(easy to apply to the corn husk) and add some shortening (lard or crisco) taste as you go. It just takes practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
As I have never made tamales before, I was a little concerned whether it would be too hard or difficult. This recipe is so easy and delicious. It is no more work than making homemade lasagne or stuffed cabbage. The only confusion I had was at to which masa to buy, but I figured it out. I will make it again with various different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I had tried other recipes and had almost given up.This recipe is fool proof I've made it many times since running across it and it works every time.Depending on if I'm making beef or chicken,I use chicken or beef powdered bullion for the dough,I also mix dried parsley,onion powder and garlic powder, and a touch of cumin -oh and some powdered ancho pepper.I use a product called Maseca there are two types I do not recommend using the one that lists making tortillas and a bunch of other things the type I use comes in a light peach coloured bag and says Maseca for delicious tamales.For some reason using the other stuff was disasterous for me and if I'm putting hours of labour into a recipe disaster is not an option! : ) My favourite way to make these is with cubed grilled chicken or steak, onions and three types of cheese and just a little bit of VERY mild green chiles'. Of course they're pretty good anyway you make them.I even started selling them to friends that kept bugging me to make them.Thank you so much Saddiecat for a delicious recipe and quite possibly a lucrative business!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
The outside (Masa part) came out fabulous. The pork was a little bland for my taste but I am working on that. My first time making them and I thought it was time consuming but easy. Friend just asked me if I would make more and said she would pay me for them! So I would say these worked well. Only yeilded 13 for me so I may try doubling the recipe. Thanks so much, really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Great recipe! I have been looking for a good tamale recipe for years, and this one fits the bill. I make a full strength batch of these for the grownups and another mild batch for the kids (and wimps). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
The recipe was easy to follow and the outcome was excellent. The next time i make it, i will use more chile, was a little mild for our taste. All around thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
really good.....difficult to make...but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States