Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Tamales are a Christmas tradition here and these are the real deal. I got raves on mine this year from our friends that we gave a dozen to. The chili's used here are very mild, so I use cascabel peppers. I always use 2 pork tenderloins to make mine. I poured all the chili sauce on the shredded meat, added about 1/2 tsp each of ground ancho chili powder and ground chipotle chili powder since it adds a smoked taste. Then let in stand for several hours before I made it into tamales. This is easier done the day ahead. I also add some ground ancho chili about 1/2 tsp. and 1/4 tsp ground chipotle chili to the masa. I use Maseca brand instant corn masa flour. I use almost all the broth and make the masa the consistency of thick cake frosting. I do have to make double the masa to use all my filling though. I don't measure the filling out, I just take some with my fingers and lay out a strip of filling down the center. It gives me 4 dozen tamales. We all agree these are even better the next day. They get spicier after reheating. I took some to work and everyone thought they came from the local (and favorite) tamale shop here. Took a bit of work, but was simple to do, and worth the time. Very easy to do, you just need a little time. If you are going to the trouble and effort you may as well make lots of tamales... I've done these with the lard and with crisco, the lard is better, so don't substitute. Delicioso! Muy Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made a vegetarian version of this recipe, substituing crisco for the lard and veggies for the meat. it turned out well and i can't wait to try it again . This recipe is easy to make changes to to suit your needs/tastes/fancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conniecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
These were very good and very time consuming. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Excellent! I had a hard time spreading the masa on the husks. I ended up using a moist corn husk to flatten/spread out the masa evenly. The review by Trptgoddess1 on 2/2004 was great and the mention by another review of using MASECA brand masa mix is great. I also added more chicken bullion powder to my masa. Try this...If you want to sample the flavor before making all of the tamales, just put a spoonful on a saucer and microwave for about 1 minute or so. It kind of makes a tamale cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
great recipe! as first-time tamale-makers, we were a little afraid, but they turned out great! a few notes: -we used the premade trader joe's carnitas ($3.99 for 12oz) and had MORE than enough meat. i can't imagine if we'd had the entire 1 1/4 lbs! -even after soaking the corn husks for an hour, we still had problems getting them to stay folded - toothpicks worked great to keep them shut during the steaming. -the california chile was really mild - we think we'll try a spicier type next time. all in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
These were awesome!! I was a little scared to try them because it takes investing quite a bit of time and I wasn't sure they would turn out for me...but it was well worth the effort. I did substitute Crisco for the lard and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These took a little work to accomplish pretty tamales, I bought a new trowel just for the job and it works great! This was pretty easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I made these last year for Dia de los Muertos and I liked them so much that I'm doing it again this year! I substituted veg. shortening for the lard and it turned out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Yummy! My family loves these.Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
OK, this was my first time making tamales ever. I personally love peruvian style tamales (the masa is reddish brown, and they serve it with sliced onions in a light lemon vinegar sauce) but these turned out better than I had expected. I used CHICKEN, and I made my masa very peanut buttery like - it really does dry out. I also added an olive or two for each tamale...the oil & flavor naturally comes out while you steam it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States