Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe has become a tradition for my father (who is 70) and I to make the day after Thanksgiving for the last 4 years. Thank you for this great recipe and the great memories I will have the rest of my life. Tina, California
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
If you are going to take the time to make tamales, be sure to double or triple the recipe, the Tamales freeze well. You also want them to turn out perfectly. This is a good recipe but the instructions leave out a few important steps: (1.) One of the biggest mistakes is not mixing the masa dough long enough; this causes the tamales to fall apart. Mix the masa dough, with an ELECTRIC MIXER, until a small amount (1 tsp) floats in a cup of water. (2.) Position your corn husks with wide end toward you. Spread a thin layer of masa dough, completely covering the bottom 2/3 of the corn husks and place filling in a line down the center of the dough. (3.) You won't have to secure your Tamales with a toothpick or strip of corn husk, if folded properly. When folding, fold in one long side about 1/3 over dough and filling, fold in the other long side, overlapping the first (like folding a business letter). Fold down the top 1/3 and place in steamer standing upright, with the folded end down and open end up. Don’t over pack the pan, just tightly enough to keep Tamales in an upright position. If you don’t have a Tamale steamer you can use a deep pot with cover. Place a steamer basket in the bottom and stand your Tamales (open end up) in the basket, add water only to the bottom of the basket (you don’t want the Tamales sitting in water) cover, and steam. Check the water level during cooking, to make sure the pot doesn’t run dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1655 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These are great whole family enjoyed them. I found that they were a little dry so I added more of the broth on the 2nd set and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have made tamales for years, and this is a good recipe. I just wanted to say that IF you love tamales but can't eat them due to the fattening nature of the ingredients, there is a very good substitute. You can use water (yes, water) instead of lard. And if you need less meat you can use the same spices in some blended blackeyed peas for the filling. Now I know this is not the SAME, but it IS quite good and would be a great way to once again have tamales even though your doctor has said 'NO.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmary8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Cameron, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
First time tamale maker here...so like many other reviewers, I used this as a jumping off place and followed my instinct on flavors. I used 5 lbs pork shoulder, cooked it in the Crockpot overnight with 1/2 large onion, 5 cloves garlic, 1 tsp crushed oregano, and 5 New Mexico dried chiles. I used some of the cooked chiles and added some extra reconstituted ones for more flavor in the meat sauce. I also thought it was bland so used 2 (ea) canned chipotle chiles in adobo for some heat - that absolutely made the sauce. Saved the meat broth - strained it and used it in the masa. I wholeheartedly give due praise to all of the abuelitas out there who stand on their feet all day making tamales. I just finished steaming the 4th batch and I am WIPED OUT! Whew! Totally worth it though as my husband tells me these would meet his abuelita's standards. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I haven't made the tamales yet, but I did make the meat filling, and it was wonderful. A couple things that I did was add a little more garlic, and some cumin seeds. Also, after I drained the meat and onions and garlic mixture, I pureed the onions and garlic with a little of the broth to make a sauce and I mixed it in with the shredded pork. It really added flavor and helped the pork retain moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is delicious and very easy to make. I will use New Mexico chili next time for more heat because the California chili pods have no heat at all but still a great, amazing taste. For the masa I used double the salt indicated and it came out great, I will definetely make them again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I looked for a very long time for the perfect tamale recipe. Thanks to you, my search has ended LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made 1/2 with pork and 1/2 with chicken. Both were absolutely delicious. The chile sauce was just awful. Not sure if the dried chiles were poor quality or the recipe but it had no flavor, all we could taste was salt. Highly recommend cooking the meats a day ahead of time and if possible working with at least one other person. Less tiresome to make the tamales. It is not hard just time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I only used the recipe for the dough and it was delicious!!!!!!!! Best i've ever made. I tweaked it a little by adding yeast to make it more bread like. Again best I have EVER made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States