Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Excellent, I had never made tamales before and I'm happy to say they came out beautiful. I'm going to make these for my family this Christmas. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Thank you I have been searching for the recipe for the masa for tamales on the internet. I used to make them to sell. But it has been a while and couldn't remember if I used 1/3c of lard or 2/3. By the way I always tripled the amount of salt in the masa. All of my customers said it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Wow!! Many thanks for sharing. I always wanted to make tamales but was hesitant because I heard how time consuming they were. Just wanted to let you know that they were worth every minute of my time! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Well after I did the recipe it tasted like something was missing oh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toneya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used the reduced liquid from cooking my pork instead of the beef broth. I thought I'd failed this miserably because after the steam time they were mushy. I opened some up and chopped and "cooked" them in a fry pan and called it tamale hash. Tasty but not too visual. I tossed the rest in the fridge to deal with later. Next day I took them out to play with and they were perfect. Think maybe I just had too much water in the steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Was looking through my recipe box and realized I didn't rate this. These are excellent tamales! They are time consuming and fussy to work with but they are wellllllllll worth the effort. I love the flavor of the masa I did add some ground chipotle to it just because. I still have 5 of these in the freezer (very well hidden). *Edit* I made these again tonight and instead of using all beef broth for the masa I used half beef and half chipotle made them extra tasty with a bit of spice this way actually turned out better than adding chipotle powder to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I gave this recipe only 3 stars because it was just waaaayyyy too fiddley to make. The meat mixture was very good but the dough was too sticky and it was impossible to find corn husks. Made about 10 and that was enough for me. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Delicious! Very authentic taste and my wife and I had fun making them together. I will say that we wish we had made more as they didn't last too long, and the left-over as just as good as fresh! Looking forward to making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
A little hard to follow the directions... I had to "google" for some clarifications on how to fold the tamale. The flavor was great but the masa ended up too dry. I reccomend adding at least 1/4 cup + or more to the dough. As another reviewer said, it should spread like peanut butter. This recipe as is did not. I added a lot more broth as suggested and it was still a bit dry. I cooked the meat in a slow cooker on HIGH for 4 hours then on low 2 hours with chicken broth, garlic, onion, salt and pepper. The meat came out amazing. I used the juice from this for the masa dough. I only needed to steam them for 1 hour and 30 minutes. In general, Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Really good. They tasted just like the ones I order in Mexican restaurants. I did use Crisco instead of lard. This was a suggestion from a collegue who comes from a Mexican family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States