Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I adore this tamale recipe. Each time I make it it is such a hit! I brought some to school and one of my teachers (who was married to a Hispanic and spent years among Mexican and Cuban cultures)said they were the best she has had, and many of my Mexican friends (whose parents often don't speak English, so I know their food is authentic!) said these are just as good as their mothers make. Point is, THEY ARE GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Robbins, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was great and made me feel accomplished at my first attempt at tamales. The masa-lard-chicken stock (didn't have pork) mixture turned out really well. The chicken in the chili sauce was so awesome. I will keep working at the recipe and by the time my kid comes home, i can try it out on him, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I just made these for my husband's birthday dinner tonight. Everyone loved it! I read some reviews before putting the recipe together and used some of the suggestions posted. I simmered the onions, garlic, and chilis with cumin, paprika, salt, and pepper for about 20 minutes. Then I put the meat in along with a can of beef broth. I made the masa with the broth from the meat. Both the masa and the filling was delicious! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made the recipe yesterday. I did tinker a bit,I used a standard 14.5 oz can of beef broth in the Masa and used Maseca ( instant corn flour). I tested it on my wife's caregiver this morning. Patricia is a Hispanic woman from Oxaca, Mexico. Married with four children and a growing adult husband. I gave her a tamal and after one taste, she ate it all. Her comments; Great flavor, could be a bit hotter. Also, a hint on rolling. Soak the husks over night. Trim the overlong tails just a bit. Use the smooth side to spread the masa. Lay flat,spread masa. fold the left side over, fold the tail up toward the center and fold the right side over. No need to tie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Followed recipe and some reviews however the mesa tasted dry and bland it was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe. Great results. Very time consuming, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I like this recipe. I do change the preparation of the meat. I cook it in the oven. I prefer the roasted pork to the boiled. If there is still cooking liquid in the pan after the meat is done, I use it in the Mesa or I reduce it down and add it back to the meat. I also prop my tamales up so that they are standing when steaming. I simply lay my steam basket on it's side and stack the basket until it is full. If there isn't enough tamales to fill the basket (which I always make extra) you could fill the empty space with left over corn husks or something to keep your tamales from falling flat. If my tamales are not sitting up, the filling tends to flow out of the husk. I would not be afraid to season my pork with extra seasoning....I like my tamales with a lot of flavor. I also keep the pepper sauce on the side, not everyone likes it in the meat at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I remember my grandma making tamales from scratch, I always loved to help her and I learned the process. The recipes themselves are not that complicated, it's the time and work it takes what makes it tedious. The original dough is made out of dry corn kernels, boiled in an alkaline water solution made with "lime", no, no the kind of lime you squeeze, construction lime, you know, the white powder they use to make plaster and stuff, believe it or not. The result is "nixtamal". Once the corn is tender is whashed, some people peels the skins off the kernels, then is put through a grinder and the result is the "masa". Most of us don't have the time, patience or equipment to do it this way. What I do is buy the "maseca para tamales", it's coarser than the one for tortillas. Some tips for the best masa you can achieve is to use real lard, the one they scrape off the pig's skin, not the processed lard, it's hard to find but it's worth it, look for a Hispanic meat market, they usually have it. Always whip the lard until fluffy before incorporating to the dough. Always use the stock you have left from boiling the meat for your filling, it will taste way better than store-bought stock. Mix mix mix, by hand, use the cold water method to make sure your dough is ready. The basic rule for 1 kg of maseca is 1/2 kg of lard, 1 tablespoon baking powder or sodium bicarbonate (AKA baking soda) and 1-1/2 - 2 cups stock, +- as needed. Shot me an email if you need filling tips or recipes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I haven't made them yet, but does anyone know that would be a healthier sub for the lard?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this recipe today and first of all, going to take longer than 35 minutes to prepare this. Second, two hours is not long enough to cook the meat to shred. There are many too many things to go over that did not work out. I would not recommend using this recipe for tamales. Go to a more involved one and plan on spending a few hours to accomplish your goal. It will be worth it in the long run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States