Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Ok i am the first to review your recipe! Wonderful! So good crusty on the outside an chewey in the middle these taste like a true bagel! I did only end up using 4 cups flour this recipe will be used alot thank you sooo much for sharing! I forgot to add that i hwd some extra dough left an i made some bagel dogs with them! Posted a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent bagels. I boiled the bagelsin the honey, but didn't need to bake them as long. In my oven 14-15 minutes would have been enough. I didn't have parchment paper so I just "sprayed" the pan. The bagels were dark on the bottom, but so delicious. This is my new favorite recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I just can't get the boiling part down. They come out a little gummy. Maybe, I will try again. I just used an egg wash and skipped the boiling part for now. They didn't come out like a bagel, more like a mix between bagel and english muffin. Still good, but that step is crucial for bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I've tried lots of bagel recipes over the years, but never one I liked as much as this one. I ususally use at least part whole wheat flour and sometimes other toppings. All have been good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I'm working on my second batch of this bagel formula. I use malt syrup as I think it improves the crust a bit. So far, I've stayed with the Very Hot (475-F) oven and bake to color, a bit less time than called for. I'm tickeled with the interior textrure and flavor. If there is one BIG variation, I mix the dough in the evening, oil it very lightly and let it ferment in the fridge for 12-18 hours, allowing about two hours at room temperature to warm before dividing and forming the bagels. If there is a better formula for bagels at home, I've yet to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a pretty good bagel recipe! I added onion flakes and poppy seeds into the dough instead of on top. Make sure to use the parchment paper otherwise the bottoms get overcooked and to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I found the dough tremendously dry. It taxed the motor on my KitchenAid. In the end, I added at least another 1/4C water and kneaded by hand. To make only 6 bagels would have resulted in rings the size of bread loaves. I made 18. 12 would have been on par with the generously over-sized bagels in grocery stores. The flavour is bland. One reviewer said he leaves the dough to ferment overnight with a long, slow rise. I think that would be wise. Otherwise the taste is flat. These need some sort of topping or schmear, rather than eating them on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe, but not the instructions. I added the 1 1/4 cup of hot water, sugar and yeast together in my KitchenAid mixer. I let the yeast get frothy and then added in the salt, oil and 4 cups of flour (anymore and it would have been too dry!). On speed 2, I let it mix then knead the dough for 15 minutes. I was running late, and couldn't get the dough to the consistency as instructed. It broke almost right away when pulled. I popped the dough a warm oven (I put it on 350F just until the elements were red, then turned it off). After rising for 2 hours, I punched down the dough and started shaping. I made 8 bagels. I didn't have a full cup of honey, so I added some light corn syrup to make up for what I was lacking, a quarter cup. I also didn't use 16 cups of water, I used 13. I let the bagels bathe and then topped them with grated medium cheddar cheese. They baked for 20 minutes at 475F. I pulled them out, let them cool for 15 minutes then tried them. OMG! Delicious! They will be even better with cream cheese smothered over them after toasting them in the toaster! I can't wait for breakfast tomorrow! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I just made this recipe. I split the dough into thirds, and made three different types of bagels. 1/3 was plain, 1/3 had cinnamon sugar mixed in, and 1/3 had caramelized onions mixed in. I am never going to buy bagels again, this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Perfect with 4 cups of Canadian flour. Made 6 giant bagels. When boiling, mine floated immediately, so boiled a minute on each side. Kneeded for about 12 minutes, giving a workout to our 800 watt Cuisinart and dough hook. Will be making this a lot. Have eaten 2 already, so I'll tell the kids I made 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States