Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I started this recipe twice and both times the dough is very very dry at the end of the 8 minute mark. I tired adding a little more warm water but still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
iI made this recipe exactly as is except that I only put 4 cups of regular Canadian flour. As a reviewer had suggested. They turn out great. My nicest looking bagels are the ones that I rolled into balls and then put a hole in the Center and sketched it out. I also put maple and corn syrup in the boiling water. I made them a bit smaller which gave me 13 bagels that are still a good size and perfect for our toaster. I used my kitchen aid stand mixer. Hope these suggestions make your bagels perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gloria
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this is my first try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these plain because my intentions were to make bagel sandwiches out of them with egg sausage and cheese. While I was making them I thought they were going to be pretty ugly but, they turned out looking like a professional had done them. The recipe was easy to follow. The only thing I did differently was added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the mixture to act as a preservative. I have found that it makes the bread stay fresher longer without molding. I made 8 out of the recipe instead of 6 and they were still huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
As stated above the bagels themselves are a bit bland, but they are perfect for sandwiches, cream cheese, butter etc... my kids love them, they are easy to make and don't last long in my house. I don't bake them for any amount of time, I bake them to color. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Maley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I liked it, I used less flour also, just 4 cups. My yeast musta been bad because they were very dense. But I figured why waste so I cooked the anyway. Dough was tough after 15 min of kneading. They didn't float either. I will try again. I have some dried cherries I want to put in. Wanna find some cherry flavoring to add more cherry flavor. Very easy and taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious and particularly easy to make. However- I used parchment paper as the recipe said and it's stuck to the bottom of my bagels now! Next time I will just use tin foil or no paper at all. Otherwise this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Really good! I made mine the night before and then took it out of the fridge a couple hours before making them. Kids love them, one daughter rolled chocolate chips in, very popular! I will say that the dough seemed very tight, I added a tbsp of water and split the dough in half so that the dough hook could do it's work. Each half portion was kneaded for at least 14 minutes. I read some reviews where people decided to hand knead.... no thank you! I used the honey in the boiling water, it certainly adds a yummy fragrance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Today I made this recipe at the very first time. It was really easy and turned out really tasty!! I did take other reviewers' suggestion resolve the yeast and sugar in warm water then add other remaining ingredients, and I also only use 4 cups of flours. I have a really small oven so I can only place 4 bagels at once ( I decided in 8 portion at the first ). The first batch came out way too big, so I divided the rest 4 into 8 pieces, but it was a bit small. So I think next time I will divide the dough to 12 portions. And I will definitely make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States