Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I'm working on my second batch of this bagel formula. I use malt syrup as I think it improves the crust a bit. So far, I've stayed with the Very Hot (475-F) oven and bake to color, a bit less time than called for. I'm tickeled with the interior textrure and flavor. If there is one BIG variation, I mix the dough in the evening, oil it very lightly and let it ferment in the fridge for 12-18 hours, allowing about two hours at room temperature to warm before dividing and forming the bagels. If there is a better formula for bagels at home, I've yet to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Ok i am the first to review your recipe! Wonderful! So good crusty on the outside an chewey in the middle these taste like a true bagel! I did only end up using 4 cups flour this recipe will be used alot thank you sooo much for sharing! I forgot to add that i hwd some extra dough left an i made some bagel dogs with them! Posted a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe, but not the instructions. I added the 1 1/4 cup of hot water, sugar and yeast together in my KitchenAid mixer. I let the yeast get frothy and then added in the salt, oil and 4 cups of flour (anymore and it would have been too dry!). On speed 2, I let it mix then knead the dough for 15 minutes. I was running late, and couldn't get the dough to the consistency as instructed. It broke almost right away when pulled. I popped the dough a warm oven (I put it on 350F just until the elements were red, then turned it off). After rising for 2 hours, I punched down the dough and started shaping. I made 8 bagels. I didn't have a full cup of honey, so I added some light corn syrup to make up for what I was lacking, a quarter cup. I also didn't use 16 cups of water, I used 13. I let the bagels bathe and then topped them with grated medium cheddar cheese. They baked for 20 minutes at 475F. I pulled them out, let them cool for 15 minutes then tried them. OMG! Delicious! They will be even better with cream cheese smothered over them after toasting them in the toaster! I can't wait for breakfast tomorrow! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Perfect with 4 cups of Canadian flour. Made 6 giant bagels. When boiling, mine floated immediately, so boiled a minute on each side. Kneeded for about 12 minutes, giving a workout to our 800 watt Cuisinart and dough hook. Will be making this a lot. Have eaten 2 already, so I'll tell the kids I made 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I found the dough tremendously dry. It taxed the motor on my KitchenAid. In the end, I added at least another 1/4C water and kneaded by hand. To make only 6 bagels would have resulted in rings the size of bread loaves. I made 18. 12 would have been on par with the generously over-sized bagels in grocery stores. The flavour is bland. One reviewer said he leaves the dough to ferment overnight with a long, slow rise. I think that would be wise. Otherwise the taste is flat. These need some sort of topping or schmear, rather than eating them on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I've tried lots of bagel recipes over the years, but never one I liked as much as this one. I ususally use at least part whole wheat flour and sometimes other toppings. All have been good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I just made this recipe. I split the dough into thirds, and made three different types of bagels. 1/3 was plain, 1/3 had cinnamon sugar mixed in, and 1/3 had caramelized onions mixed in. I am never going to buy bagels again, this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a pretty good bagel recipe! I added onion flakes and poppy seeds into the dough instead of on top. Make sure to use the parchment paper otherwise the bottoms get overcooked and to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I'm on the same page as Mama_B. I also had to add 1/4 cup of water and kneaded by hand. They were my first attempt at bagels so I was happy that they turned out, but they really were huge. I'm going to try again and make 8 instead so they're a more normal size. I was happy with how they tasted right out of the oven, but having one for breakfast the next day, they were a bit bland. I did not boil them with honey, so I will also try that next time to add an extra layer of flavor. Oh, and a bit of advice for anyone having trouble rolling out and connecting their bagels into a ring - I saw in another recipe that they form the bagels into balls and just stick their thumb in the middle to make a hole, then stretch the hole to 1/3 the width of the bagel and form it into a bagel shape that way. I did that and it was very easy. PLAWHON - Thank you very much for contributing this recipe! I was very pleased with how easy to follow it was for a novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It's quite tasty. I did change the bread to water to ratio to what i know would work from making tons of bread. 1 and 1/2 water and 4 cups of high gluten flour. I also mixed the dough in my bread machine, it's just easier that way. The recipe is exact to my pizza dough 1 and 1/2 water, 2 tbsp oil, 4c bread or high gluten flour, 1tsp salt(sprinkle about that much) and 3 tbsp sugar(a handful), and 1 pkt rapid rise yeast. I decided to go with Onion bagels, so I added onion powder to the dough (about a few tbsp, just sprinked, so dont know the exact amount) . Once the dough was finished I took the advice of adding honey to the water(not sure if it made any difference, just used up a bunch of my honey). It is just like making pretzels or pretzel dogs I dropped them in the water and flipped after about 30 or so seconds then placed them onto a parchment lined baking sheet. I brushed the top of each with egg white then sprinkled with onion flakes. I then baked in a 400 oven for about 20 minutes checking after 15 then every few minutes until they looked done. I turned the oven off, opened the door and covered with foil. I have learned from making, pizza and pretzles that this helps the chew in the crust. Now I just have to keep from eating them all before the rest of the family comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States