Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
D This is the first time I made bagels and they turned out great. I did have to add additional water. I made everything,cranberry and cinnamon raisin. All turned out great. This recipe is one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very tasty. My dough didn't "stretch" even after letting it kneed in my KitchenAid for the recommended time but it still turned out great. Also, I used less honey in the water but that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I love making these they are so delicious, but I'm having a hard time getting the ends to stay together how do I get that done?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We loved this recipe! I took my snakes and wrapped hot dogs, boiled them for a minute and baked for about 12 min. So yummy. You will have dough leftover if you make a pack of hot dogs. I used the leftover dough to make plain bagels. I did leave the dough in the mixer for about 12 min rather than 8. Awesome! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Best bagels. I only use 4c of flour based on the other reviews. These are easy and fantastic. I'll never buy bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I'm on the same page as Mama_B. I also had to add 1/4 cup of water and kneaded by hand. They were my first attempt at bagels so I was happy that they turned out, but they really were huge. I'm going to try again and make 8 instead so they're a more normal size. I was happy with how they tasted right out of the oven, but having one for breakfast the next day, they were a bit bland. I did not boil them with honey, so I will also try that next time to add an extra layer of flavor. Oh, and a bit of advice for anyone having trouble rolling out and connecting their bagels into a ring - I saw in another recipe that they form the bagels into balls and just stick their thumb in the middle to make a hole, then stretch the hole to 1/3 the width of the bagel and form it into a bagel shape that way. I did that and it was very easy. PLAWHON - Thank you very much for contributing this recipe! I was very pleased with how easy to follow it was for a novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I went with this recipe and was very pleased! I read the reviews and prepared dough the night before - super easy once I calculated instant yeast vs. packaged (it was Arctic Freeze Weekend and I was not going out!). 2 pkgs yeast... Next morning took bowl from garage and let rise about 2 hrs. then Prepared three types of bagels, Asiago cheese, cinnamon sugar, toasted onion flakes. Everyone loved them and they were even tastier the next day. In the future I will definately make double batch - since I had a large pot of boiling water, would like make the most use of it. Just watch them after 10 min...they brown faster than you think. Thanks to everyone for your comments for a successful Deli breakfast (and warm kitchen)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I had a hard time getting my bagels to stay together where I had pinched them when they went in to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I am still trying to master how to make bread. I tried this and thay came out so good. My husband vowed he will never by store bought bagels again. My second batch of bagels I had to triple the recipe. Wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I went to my local Panera's to get bagels yesterday but they were out so I decided to make my own. The bagels just came out of the oven and they are wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I do not have a dough hook so I kneaded by hand. I also used 1/2 cup less bread flour since the bread flour I use makes very dense doughs and baked the bagels on a Silpat. I am not a novice baker but I have never made bagels before. The recipe was easy to follow, easy to execute and the bagels are fantastic. Mine turned out a little less beautiful than Panera's bagels, but with practice I think that I can fix the issue. The hardest part for me was keeping the ends together. I had one bagel that released in the water and I had to stick the ends back together before baking. I no longer see much reason to buy bagels. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States