Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sweetseeker
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
So far so good! They're cooked and cooling. I chomped at the bit waiting for 1 1/2 hours before punching down, shaping boiling and baking. I only put maybe a Tbs. of sugar and a Tsp. of honey in the water. I used an egg wash. Baked at 450. They look great. USEFUL TIP!!! I found when making pretzels or bagels, to put them into a sieve to drip and let some water evaporate off of them after boiling before putting them on the parchment paper! Otherwise I did have some pretzels turn out "gummy". Hope that helps! As for flavour. It is what you make it! Its a basic bread recipe, add your own flavours and spices! Allowing it to sit overnight may make a nice difference. I never really care. :) Happy Baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Choi
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I made 9 -10 bagels with this reciepe and they looked and tasted great. I added one egg and let them rise for 1 hour instead of 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Choi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this recipe a few weeks ago, and we loved it! I would give a 5 for the taste, but because of the excess flour, I down graded a bit. I did modify a bit, by adding 1/4 cup oat groats, and 1/2 cup brown flour (reduced white by 1). I did make the mistake with the flour the first time (nearly killed my mixer) but by adding lots of water (by hand) I was able to salvage the dough. Today I made again, this time starting with a total of 2.5 cups flour/grain, and added flour as needed to achieve the proper texture. After the first batch my Husband has been begging me to make again! These are way better than bought, and so much easier to digest! I don't see us buying bagels again!!! Thank you so much for the recipe Plawhon, and thank you Wannabechef for your advice as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious! Dough was a little hard on the mixer. Bagels were boiled in water (no honey, sugar or salt), and the crusts were the perfect texture. After baking, the outside was golden and the insides were beautifully soft with nice air pockets. Final product -10 out of 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
The bagels taste great but would have been in the oven too long, they started smoking at about 10 minutes because of the parchment paper, I bought cheap parchment paper, not a mistake I'll make again! But after I cut the bagels off the paper, they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I am sorry, but this did not work for me. the insides were never cooked well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have tried a number of bagel recipes and this is by far the best one I've found. When the recipe is set on the original serving size of 6 bagels, I have been able to make 8 with the same amount of dough. If you let them rise for another 20-30 minutes after forming the bagels and before boiling them, they will be slightly bigger. After boiling them, I use an egg wash (one whisked egg with a little bit of water), then add the toppings and bake. The toppings stay on better with the egg wash. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
1st time making bagels... turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were the addition of grated cheddar cheese and diced jalapeños. Yum! This recipe is my new go-to for bagels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is much too bready, it doesn't have the right chew in the middle. I only let them rise for 20 minutes and it was still much too airy and tender in the middle. I also washed them with egg to get proper coloring. They had a nice outer texture though. I had to add a touch more water but that just happens with flour. Next time I will half the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
D This is the first time I made bagels and they turned out great. I did have to add additional water. I made everything,cranberry and cinnamon raisin. All turned out great. This recipe is one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States