Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I am sorry, but this did not work for me. the insides were never cooked well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have tried a number of bagel recipes and this is by far the best one I've found. When the recipe is set on the original serving size of 6 bagels, I have been able to make 8 with the same amount of dough. If you let them rise for another 20-30 minutes after forming the bagels and before boiling them, they will be slightly bigger. After boiling them, I use an egg wash (one whisked egg with a little bit of water), then add the toppings and bake. The toppings stay on better with the egg wash. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
1st time making bagels... turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were the addition of grated cheddar cheese and diced jalapeños. Yum! This recipe is my new go-to for bagels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is much too bready, it doesn't have the right chew in the middle. I only let them rise for 20 minutes and it was still much too airy and tender in the middle. I also washed them with egg to get proper coloring. They had a nice outer texture though. I had to add a touch more water but that just happens with flour. Next time I will half the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
D This is the first time I made bagels and they turned out great. I did have to add additional water. I made everything,cranberry and cinnamon raisin. All turned out great. This recipe is one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very tasty. My dough didn't "stretch" even after letting it kneed in my KitchenAid for the recommended time but it still turned out great. Also, I used less honey in the water but that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I love making these they are so delicious, but I'm having a hard time getting the ends to stay together how do I get that done?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We loved this recipe! I took my snakes and wrapped hot dogs, boiled them for a minute and baked for about 12 min. So yummy. You will have dough leftover if you make a pack of hot dogs. I used the leftover dough to make plain bagels. I did leave the dough in the mixer for about 12 min rather than 8. Awesome! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Best bagels. I only use 4c of flour based on the other reviews. These are easy and fantastic. I'll never buy bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I'm on the same page as Mama_B. I also had to add 1/4 cup of water and kneaded by hand. They were my first attempt at bagels so I was happy that they turned out, but they really were huge. I'm going to try again and make 8 instead so they're a more normal size. I was happy with how they tasted right out of the oven, but having one for breakfast the next day, they were a bit bland. I did not boil them with honey, so I will also try that next time to add an extra layer of flavor. Oh, and a bit of advice for anyone having trouble rolling out and connecting their bagels into a ring - I saw in another recipe that they form the bagels into balls and just stick their thumb in the middle to make a hole, then stretch the hole to 1/3 the width of the bagel and form it into a bagel shape that way. I did that and it was very easy. PLAWHON - Thank you very much for contributing this recipe! I was very pleased with how easy to follow it was for a novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States